Renovation, gardening and much more in beautiful rural France

Country

France

updated  

Favourited 17 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Want a home this winter?

    I am renovating a house in France in the Lot department. My two hectares is being converted into flower garden, vegetable garden, woodland area etc. I have three cats, some chickens and ducks. In the summer we are fairly self-sufficient. The weather is glorious and we love the relaxed attitudes here. There is much to do so I am looking for volunteers that can help. It's impossible to list exact details so I have described the general projects below.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am in lovely rural France, the wildlife here is fab so if you like open space and nature this is perfect. I am doing so much stuff there is lots to learn - both from by us, and by us - so this should be a benefit to both us as hosts and you as a helper. Being English we speak English at home, but we are surrounded by French locals so you can improve your French and-or your English. I am a good cook and love all types of cuisine so you will eat well.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    THE GARDEN

    Need some help with the vegetable garden and creating the flower garden. We are especially interested in connecting with volunteers that have horticultural knowledge so that we can also improve our knowledge.

    * help continuing the vegetable garden
    * develop the flower garden.
    * general maintenance - mowing, weeding, watering, sowing etc.
    * need to plan winter and spring crops


    COMPLETING THE HOUSE & CARPENTRY

    Good carpenters and DIYer? Lots of jobs including:

    * help lay a large wooden floor
    * build cupboards
    * tile bathrooms
    * painting internal and external (shutters and doors)
    * some furniture maintenance, renovation etc

    GENERAL TIDYING & CLEARING

    * general clearing and sorting, some heavyish lifting as I can't do it by myself
    * shifting furniture into the house from the barn

    POSSIBLE PROJECT

    I have an idea to turn the south field into a market garden or a food forest. If you have some ideas and want to contribute let me know.

    ABOUT YOU

    I need volunteers as funds are limited.
    I would love someone that is interested in food and drink.
    One person or a couple, possibly a dog if it's OK with cats and chickens, possibly a cat or horse. Any age, I love people with experience and stories to tell so that usually means 30 plus, but I am open to all ideas. I am omniverous but don't eat meat that often so are very happy being vegetarian.
    I am also interested in a permaculture and-or food forest partner.

    Everything is negotiable. I really would prefer someone looking for a longer stay - at least a month and even better if more; With my first helper we did a trial two weeks and continued after that as we were all happy.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I need to improve my French, I love language and get so frustrated that I can't always say what i really want to. I can help with English spoken and written.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The house is not finished, although I am now sleeping in it downstairs, You can stay in a) the caravan, b) one of the rooms in the house - dry but undecorated, c) we can accommodate a camper van or similar if that is your preference.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are rural there are all the outdoor activities such as walking, birdwatching, riding, cycling etc. we are also very close to the Lot river where you can swim and canoe. And of course there are the vineyards. There are fantastic markets here and a lot of medieval history and architecture. There is a ceramacist who gives classes just up the road. If you have a valid license you are welcome to borrow our car or a bicycle. We are 40 minutes from Cahors and 2 hours from Toulouse. Bordeaux is 3 ish hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have fibre and wifi that is good (around 80mbps). But the phone signal here is somewhat inconsistent so calls can be frustrating although text always work

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Can accommodate anything you are likely to have, power no problem. Despite still being in renovation mode there are good water and loo facilities and washing machine.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Can accommodate a horse in the south field. A cat or dog is possible providing they are good with chickens and my three cats

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week (max 25/hours/week)



Host ref number: 479573395285