Join us and help on our land near Cooma, New South Wales, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 2 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/08/2021

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI there we are welcoming a volunteer or couple to help with a self-sufficient organic farm.

    We are Rosemary and Mark, an older couple outside of Cooma NSW. We have hosted many volunteers over the years. Until October 2021, Mark will be in residence by himself as Rosemary has temporarily returned to England to look after her sister.

    We have a little less than twenty goats, some of which are milked, from which we make yoghurt and a variety of cheeses. We also have chickens and ducks, and there is a fair sized vegetable garden.

    Mark is training goats to work in harness; so there is the opportunity for a helper to learn something about all these activities.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is an opportunity to gain experience with the above animals and plant cultivation, as well as making yoghurt, and different cheeses and sausages. In the case of people to whom English is a second language, we are very experienced and competent in helping people improve their English.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Workawayers would be expected to help with housework, including washing dishes, collecting firewood and all the animal husbandry that a small farm entails.

    The goats and poultry during the day are out with variable amounts of freedom, and are locked in sheds each night to protect them from the weather as well as foxes. This means that their shed cleaning...removing their droppings and old, soiled bedding straw. this is put into composts which when ready may be put into worm farms, or into vegetable beds.

    We try to be environmentally aware: using power from the solar panels on the roof, (we are connected to the grid), we heat the house and cook with firewood, which also heats the water.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Workawayers have a room of their own in the cottage, and all meals provided in exchange for their efforts. Food will be sourced from the farm produce that is created on the property.

    We have a composting toilet, just outside the house, with a roof covering the access....sawdust goes on top of faeces, to prevent the smell, providing the mix of carbon to nitrogen of four to one, and it will be composted in bins for a year.

    Terrier dogs and cats share the house. The former protect the other animals from foxes, the latter from rodents. They are all de-sexed, and nice people.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The volunteer workers would have a few days off a week and due to the proximity of the property to the Australian Snowfields could enjoy skiing or snowboarding on their days off. It would be advisable for the volunteers to have their own transport so they can travel there.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    While my computer system is a little old, I have a satellite connection and the internet available.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have 100 acres of land so pick a spot!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 471954725896