Help us developing our place for a more sustainable, off-grid life in Glenaroua, VIC, Australia

  • Favourited 9 times
  • Last activity: 8 May 2024



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    We are a young at heart couple in our early 60's who have been building our own home for the last 7 years. Some help with this project would be greatly appreciated, along with developing our 110 acre property for a more sustainable, off-grid life.

    We have a few cows, chickens, geese and horses. Our vegetable patch/orchard is fully caged with raised beds where we grow most of our fruit and vegetables.

    The farm is made of pasture and some light bush and has an abundance of wild life such as kangaroos, the occasional wallaby and wombat and plenty of birds.

    We will ensure you enjoy and value your time on our farm and very much appreciate any help with our projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We have a wide variety of native animals and birds. Our 110 acre property is completely off-grid with a large produce garden. We would love to teach travellers about the area we live in. Learn about life on a small farm including animal welfare and pasture management.

    Participate and contribute in building a healthy and sustainable farm.

    Share cooking and food experiences.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    It would be helpful if they are able to weld, drive a tractor, enjoy gardening and general work around the property. There is always plenty of mowing, weeding, fencing, and help with planting. We would love help from Workawayer with farm experience. As we head into winter, help will also be needed in gathering and storing firewood.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We have two bedrooms that can be set up for couples or as twins with a share bathroom. Meals would be shared and eaten with us (a couple).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are several wineries and historical sites in the the area that are well worth visiting. We are close to the Goulburn River and a number of State and National Parks, a rail trail for walking or bike riding. Seymour is only about 15km away and is our largest town. Broadford is approx. 18km away. Both towns have railway stations making travel to Melbourne (approx 1 hour) easy and viable. The Hume Freeway and Northern Highway are also close making travel by car around the State an option. We're about 1.5 hours from both the beach and the snow fields.

    We are non-smokers and would prefer to only host non-smoking workers.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have parking for Campervans/Caravans close to the house with water and power.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 666225953973

Feedback (2)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Wild Horse Training Program on the Snowy River NSW, Australia
Help with horses, dogs, cats, pet pigs and lots of cows on our Outback Cattle Station in North Queensland, Australia