Help out in the veggie garden or with small building projects near Villebois-Lavalette, France

Country

France

Favourited 3 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello,
    we are Pierre and Winnie and we live in what we call our little paradise. You can find us in the Charente, some 25 minutes south of Angoulème and only 10 minutes from the Dordogne. We have about 2 hectares of forest, 3,5 hectares of grassland and a big lake. On the land we have about 30 fruit trees: apple, pear, kiwi, cherry, kaki, nashi, plum,... And we started a vegetable garden the permaculture way.
    Almost every evening we have deer in our garden and there are often traces of wild boar too. Apart from that there are plenty of birds and insects to spot.
    We have only moved here beginning July 2019 and so we still have lots of things that need to be done and with which you can help us. In 2020 our family will be joined by our donkey James (born August 2019), hopefully chickens and a dog too.

    We live in a very rural area. Villebois-Lavalette is the closest town to us, with a supermarket and small market on Saturday, and this is at 8 minutes drive by car. It is very quiet here, it is easy to get used to the peacefulness surrounding us.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are open to many initiatives, so you can suggest things too.
    We both speak fluent French and English, Winnie also speaks Dutch. We can help you with these languages.
    We live a very rural life with the closest little town at about 8 minutes by car. You can really enjoy time in nature, surrounded by few people and little noise.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lot of things that can/need to be done:
    - in Spring 2020 we want to construct:
    * a safe place for the chickens
    * a shed for our donkey James
    * a green house with the windows recuperated from the house
    - we could use help in the vegetable garden: we want to grow a lot of veggies ourselves, so if you are up for this, you can completely go nuts. In 2019 our garden was rather tiny, we would like to grow it bigger and bigger every year.
    - there are several buildings on our land and some need a lot/a bit of work. If this is your speciality, then you could enjoy taking down a wall, a roof, or even build a terrace. There are lots of possibilities.
    - the forest hasn't had a lot of love in the past years prior to our arrival. There are several dead trees that need to be taken down or recuperated for the wood burner in Winter.

    Harvesting is also a huge task where we could use help. There is the picking of the fruit, but also the transforming of it, which takes most time. We currently dehydrate, freeze, transform them into jams or syrups, or put them onto syrups. Winnie likes exploring this a lot, so any idea you have is a possibility. June is cherry harvesting, from mid-August to end of September we have the apples, pears, plums, mirabelles, figs,... And then even later we have kaki's and kiwis.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French, English, Dutch

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a few sleeping places available in the house, so please enquire about this if this is what you are looking for. Outside there is plenty plenty plenty of space for you to hide out with a tent.

    We will enjoy 3 meals together on the working days, on the days off this will depend on what everyone is up too. The kitchen will always be available in any case. Breakfast is usually bread and homemade jams, lunch and dinner are often warm meals, or a salad or soup, it all depends. We always eat glutenfree (except for breakfast, but if you are gluten intolerant just like Winnie, then just say it in advance and she will provide glutenfree bread or porridge for you too). We often eat vegetarian or even vegan, also here, if this is the kitchen you prefer, just tell us and we can play along. We love travelling and also travelling by food, so we would love it if you could cook a lunch/dinner for us during your stay.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in a rural area with a lot of nature. There is very little public transport available, so you need a bike or even better -sadly- a car. On your days off you can visit some small towns around us (Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Brantôme, Ribérac,...), go to Angoulème, go hike in nature, go swim in a river,... or just enjoy the peacefulness here at our house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 447618237864