Help with our horses, gathering wood and gardening on the stunning Otago Peninsula, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 278 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    25  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    152

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our farm is 100 acres of deer-fenced land on the Otago Peninsula. The help we require is some basic garden maintenance, wood splitting, weed-eating etc. We are an animal besotted family with 3 horses, 2 cats and a dog (please NOTE our dog is a retired drugs dog so if you use even occasionally, then please don't bother offering your services !). Ideally some equestrian knowledge would be good as you will take care of the daily horse care but not necessary. As we are a working farm, no pets thanks. We really only take couples as you can help each other out on jobs.
    You need to be comfortable using your initiative as you will mostly be unsupervised and its useful to have your own boots/outdoor gear. As this is an exchange, we simply ask that you donate 5 hours of help per night stayed and in return we will provide you with scrummy food and brand new accommodation with a queen bed and your own private bathroom.
    Please bear in mind that we will all share in the domestics particularly clearing up after meals ! Non-smokers only thanks. Also as we are a very busy household with school children stuff going on, we really don`t have the time to separately cater for special dietary requirements i.e .vegetarians, gluten/lactose issues - SORRY!
    We start out with a week`s trial - this seems to suit our helpers - it`s just in case you don`t like us or vice versa!!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Kiwi family life!

  • Help

    Help

    We have several large stands of Macrocarpa trees and we need to gather wood from the fallen branches. Also some light garden work such as weed whacking. Being able to use a chainsaw and drive a quad bike really helps.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You have your own queen sized bedroom with it's own bathroom - part of the main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    As we are not on a main road, any helpers MUST have their own transport. Dunedin is known as the wildlife capital of NZ, we have a lot of interesting wildlife and places to visit close by, but all DO require a car to get there. Also as we are very busy and time is of the essence, we don't have the time to separately cater for special dietary requirements ie vegetarians, gluten/lactose issues - SORRY!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)


















Host ref number: 353829129839