A respectful lifestyle project in the outdoors in Bovalino, Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 177 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This Workaway was born from the idea of ​​opening a place to make various experiences and experiments possible: living outside one's comfort zone, having the possibility of being more in contact with natural elements, allowing children to measure themselves / grow as freely as possible.
    In recent years, therefore, we have also lived in communities, we have experimented with natural construction techniques, we have hosted many travelers, especially families with children, and socialization events and gatherings of peasant networks and mutual aid with other rural realities have been organized .
    The activities that mainly take place today are home schooling, the management of common areas and the maintenance of the land and trees, the harvesting of olives and fruits. Even a small vegetable garden gives us something to consume.
    We prefer to produce food and what we can't do we buy it or exchange it with friends. The ideal would be not to rely on large-scale distribution.
    We consume mostly vegan, but we are flexible.


    Questa Workaway nasce dall'idea di aprire un luogo per rendere possibili varie esperienze e sperimentazioni: vivere fuori dalla propria zona di comfort, avere la possibilità di essere più in contatto con gli elementi naturali, osservare ai piccoli di misurarsi / crescere più liberamente possibili.
    In questi anni quindi è anche vissuto in comunità, si sono sperimentate tecniche naturali di costruzione, si è ospitato molti viaggiatori, soprattutto famiglie con bambini, e si sono organizzati eventi di socializzazione e raduni di reti contadine e di mutuo aiuto con altre società rurali .
    Le attività che oggi principalmente si svolgono sono l'educazione scolastica, la gestione degli spazi comuni e la manutenzione del terreno e degli alberi, la raccolta delle olive e dei frutti. Anche un piccolo orto ci da qualcosa da consumare.
    Preferiamo produrre il cibo e cosa non riusciamo a fare lo sconto acquistiamo o scambiamo con gli amici. L'ideale sarebbe non appoggiarsi alla GDO.
    Consumiamo prevalentemente vegano, ma siamo flessibili.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot of things about nature, field, children, homeschooling and you can also learn about southern Italian culture.

  • Help

    Help

    In the field you can collect wood for winter, harvest or transform fruits and vegetables, weed, water, manage compost, etc... In autumn we are mainly involved in olive picking.
    We can often involve you in building activities with natural materials.
    In the house you can help cooking and cleaning.
    Since we are a community also during free days help in the kitchen is requested.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Italian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is no accommodation indoor, you have to bring your tent or we have one to lend you.
    If you have a caravan or a camper van we can set a good place for it.
    In the camping area, close to the kitchen garden, there are an outdoor kitchen, a space for washing dishes and clothes and a shower.

    There is a house hosting a common kitchen and a mezzanine, where Gisella and Gaia sleep.
    Close to the house there is the compost toilet and an outdoor space for washing dishes and clothes.

    There are two sources of water: municipal pipes bring drinkable water to the house area; a well brings not analyzed water to the camping area.
    We use the well water for washing and cooking.
    We make sure there is always a 10 liters drinkable water storage in the camping area.

    We don't guarantee WiFi, we don't have washing machine or electricity (there is only a solar panel for the essential).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    GET HERE: the closest airport is LAMEZIA TERME.
    It's linked by regional trains and buses.
    We're picking you up by car at the train station.

    We live in the countryside: nearest village is Bovalino, nearest city is Reggio Calabria (90 km). If you rent a car you can visit many ancient small villages in the area. We're close to the grecanic area.
    In your spare time you can visit a lot of ancient towns, like Gerace, or archaeologicals sites of Greek colonies, like Locri Epizefiri or Kaulon.
    The sea is near (5 minutes by car) and the mountains are at 30 minutes away by car.
    The whole coast is served by bus and trains

    If you have any question don't hesitate to contact us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Non posso garantire sempre una connessione wifi

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Si, l'importante che ci sia rispetto, le regole verranno spiegate

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours X 5 days

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.8)



















Host ref number: 989331844293