Gardening help in historic Cobh, Ireland

  • Ireland
  • Favourited 133 times
  • Last activity: 18/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Bill works as a General Manager in Research and Elspeth works as a PA.

    We have some two dogs, two cats, three chickens and tropical fish. So someone who likes animals is a must.

    The main home is a beautiful, private, period residence overlooking the sea in Cork Harbour, with extensive garden and this garden requires lots of attention. Also DIY and painting may be required.

    The smaller house is a brick built 130 year old house with lovely trees and a small but private garden. General maintenance may be needed here.

    Cobh is a very attractive, historic town. It was the last port of call of the Titanic and receives up to 70 plus cruise ships each summer.
    There are lovely restaurants and bars in Cobh. Many tourist attractions in neighbouring towns i.e. Blarney Castle, Midleton Jameson Distillery, Kinsale Gourmet Food.
    Cobh is well equipped with sports clubs i.e. tennis, golf, gym. It has a rail link to Cork city which is 22km away.

    We are both vegetarians! So would prefer if you were too, but is it not essential.

    Private large bedroom with beautiful sea view is offered.
    Non smoker preferred.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will have the opportunity to learn new languages i.e. English, Irish and German.
    See wonderful historic sights in the locality i.e. Titanic museum, Blarney Castle, Cork English Market.
    Experience local culture i.e. traditional Irish music and local theatre.
    Sporting events i.e. Irish Hurling and Gaelic football, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    The project is to maintain the mature gardens over the summer.
    General up keep of grounds, cutting back of shrubs, replanting flower beds, etc.
    Indoor painting projects in the big house.

    The gardens in main house are extensive and there are a lot of heavy projects, cutting back bushes and general upkeep of plants and grass. There is also an area to clear in the orchard and a project to make a workable compost heap.
    So someone who likes gardening is a must.

    There is a second smaller garden that could also do with some tasks DIY and garden help and indoor painting in that house too.

    Some small tasks in the main house like painting and perhaps you can show us your cooking skills too (remember we don't eat meat).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    German: Intermediate
    Irish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    French - Elspeth, very basic, but open to learning. German - Bill, intermediate, would like to brush up his skills.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private large bedroom with beautiful sea view is offered in large home.
    Breakfast and lunch will be provided, but it is up to yourself to make it yourself.
    You will be working on your own during the day.
    Evening meals will most likely be with one of us, except for Monday and Wednesday nights.
    Weekends will be free to do as you wish.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Good local bus and train service in to Cork city and beyond.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Small camper van could be facilitated.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 443987252141

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join our family and learn to work on a dairy farm in West Cork, Ireland
Couples welcome to help on our project near Shannon, Ireland