new host  

Join our fun family in West Cork, Ireland

  • Favourited 14 times
  • Last activity: 22 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are a welcoming and adventurous family of 5 and we love meeting people from all over the world and learning about different cultures, languages, foods and traditions.

    We own a beautiful property in Bandon, County Cork, Ireland, and it has the best of both worlds: we are only a few minutes walk from the town centre, or 30 minute bus ride from Cork City, yet our house is in our own private wood so it feels completely remote. Bandon is the gateway to the stunning West Cork and Wild Atlantic Way so there are lots of impressive beaches, forests, historical sites and scenic routes to explore nearby.

    We home educate our 3 children aged 6, 8 and 10 following a Classical Educational Approach and we love spending time outdoors in nature. My husband works from home so all 5 of us are home, most of the time.

    We love spending time together as a family and some of our favourite activities include outdoor/indoor cooking, baking, board games, reading, building dens in our forest, beach walks, farm visits, etc.

    In return for 5 hours help, 5 days a week you will live as part of our family enjoying meals, activities and outings with us as often as you like, or be as independent as you wish and use our home as a base outside of your Workaway hours to explore all that the Wild Atlantic Way and nearby Cork city has to offer.

    ** At the moment we accept non-smoking, women only**

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a blended Irish, South African family and you would be welcomed into our family home, given comfortable accommodation and good food. We do a lot of sight seeing, exploring and love spending time outdoors, so you will be shown places of interest in the area and encouraged to explore with us and/or on your own.

    I am a Relationship & Parenting Life Coach as well as an Educational Specialist. I am passionate about seeing individuals, couples and families lead meaningful and fulfilling lives and thrive in their relationships.

    I am also passionate about education so love equipping people with knowledge and skills of alternative educational approaches. I use a Classical Education curriculum with my children in combination a strong play-based learning philosophy and practical hands on activities.

    If you are interested in childhood development, learning through play, classical education, alternative education, outdoor learning, etc., then living with our family could be a very meaningful and enriching experience for you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    If you can imagine helping with the garden or the house or even both, we would love to welcome you to our family.

    There are a variety of ways that you can help, depending on your interests, skills, passions, etc.

    Here is a list of ideas, you will not be required to do all of these things, but rather use the list as inspiration to let us know the type of things you would enjoy doing while staying with us:

    Garden:
    As we live in a forest, there is lots of opportunity for general assistance to keep our garden in good order such as: weeding, landscaping, growing vegetables, mending the fence, clearing brambles, painting gates, collecting & chopping wood in preparation for the winter.

    Household:
    We love to have a smooth running household so part of your hours would include sharing of general household tasks and chores such as cleaning and tidying before and after meals/activities, washing up, etc.

    Cooking:
    We love cooking and baking both indoors and outdoors and we love trying new foods and flavours. If you would enjoy cooking/baking with us and teaching us some of your cultural foods and national cuisine that would amazing.

    DIY:
    DIY skills would be very welcome for any indoor/outdoor projects that you might enjoy, and general assistance to keep our house and garden in good order.
    Some possible project options could be: creating a vegetable garden, creating an area for chickens, creating a sitting area outside for summer.
    If you have any skills in eco building, in the areas of cob, straw & alternative living, etc. your ideas are also welcome.

    Children:
    Part of your hours might be one night a week of child minding where you put the kids to bed, read stories, play games so that my husband and I can have a date night out.
    We used to attend forest school but now that we live in a forest, we do forest school type of activities ourselves. If you enjoy nature crafts, orienteering, shelter building, outdoor cooking, etc. you could do some of these activities with our children as part of your hours.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Afrikaans: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We love learning about different cultures and languages so teaching us your language could be an option. Or, if you only have basic English and want to improve your English, participating in our family life would be a great way for you to learn/improve your English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own small bedroom and access to a shared bathroom and shared kitchen in our house. All rooms in the house have beautiful forest views.

    The house and garden are non-smoking.

    Our house has multiple levels and our lifestyle is active so it is essential that you are healthy and able for stairs and other activities.

    Meals not on our property (in your free time) will not be covered. If you stay at our house though or go for an excursion with us, you are welcome to eat with us or cook your own meal.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are various bus stops near our house, but we are happy to drop you to the bus or bring you to our local town and other places of interest.

    There is lots to do and see on the doorstep if you love the countryside. Beautiful beaches, coves, heritage sites and forests waiting to be explored.

    Local town of Bandon is about a 5 minute walk from our home. Regular buses leave from it to Cork City or West Cork.

    ** At the moment we accept non-smoking, women only**

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We love animals but please speak to us before hand if you would like to bring a pet. We sometimes puppy board pups for the Guide Dogs for the Blind, so if you have a pet there is a chance we might have an active puppy in the house so please be mindful of that. You would also be required to look after your own pet and clean up after it and be responsible for it at all times

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 393158789561

Feedback


Come explore and lend a hand in our home and with our animals in Milltown, Ireland
Gardening and hanging out with kids in Shanagarry, East Cork, Ireland