Family farm looking for help during the busy season!! Kingsport, Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 140 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    38  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    234

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers!

    We are a family farm in Kingsport, Nova Scotia looking for some help during our busiest season!
    We grow a variety of fruits and vegetables in which we aim to be as natural and pesticide free as possible with our climate. We also have chickens and cows. We are looking for a few serious, hardworking and reliable volunteers to help us as there is always a lot to get done and we are very busy!
    We are a family of four- Jennifer and Kevin (parents) with two children- Jeremy (24) and Julia (21) who are around for part of the summer.
    We live in the beautiful Annapolis Valley, with a view of the Bay of Fundy. There is a beach 15 minutes walking from our place, and many other nice beaches along the coastline where you can go on your spare time. There are also many nice restaurants, wineries, breweries and other charming places to discover in the area in your free time. Please note that we live in the countryside, the nearest shops are a 10 minute drive away, while towns of Wolfville and New Minas are 20 minutes by car- we have one bike that can be borrowed for local trips, and we can offer drives into town on the occasion. We also go to the Halifax market on Saturdays, so we can possibly offer transportation to and from Halifax on those days if you are interested in visiting the city!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Farmstay

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer an experience to learn about small farm production at a relaxing and beautiful place. There are many wonderful things to see in the Annapolis Valley from the red coastlines, highest tides, nice trails and lakes, and charming towns. We can offer the occasional ride when possible, and we have one bike that you can borrow to explore the area. We have hosted workers before and really enjoyed the cultural exchange. Unfortunately we are very busy on the farm now, but we enjoy sharing meals and time together when it is possible.

    You can expect to learn about Canadian maritime culture, the history of Nova Scotia (one of the original provinces in Canada), and can explore the history of some of the first settlers (nearby our home there is one of the first Acadian settlements) through various historical sites in Nova Scotia. You will also have the opportunity to learn about life in rural Nova Scotia, and the nature of small-scale farming with an opportunity to engage with the community and to learn even more about Canadian culture and meet some wonderful people : )

  • Help

    Help

    ** Please note that we adhere to the traditional Workaway exchange of 5 hours of work/day (for 5 days/week) for accommodation and food. We do not offer wages nor are we able to include you in business-related activities including harvesting product for sale or involvement at farmers' markets.

    We are looking for hardworking and RELIABLE volunteers to help us out during this busy time, that being said, prior farm experience is not necessary- just a desire to learn and hardworking!

    Help will vary day by day depending on the different tasks that need to be completed.
    Some sample tasks include:
    - gardening
    - lawn help
    - weeding, seeding and planting, tending to plants
    - other general farm tasks

    Workaway hours are 5 hrs/day from Monday- Friday, weekends free.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️Please note that we do have other people working on the farm so you will have the opportunity to be alongside others, but there may also be times where you are on your own for a task.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, A little french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two bedrooms in our house that where we can offer accommodation for 2-3 people.
    The kitchen is open for you to use, as well as fresh produce and eggs from our farm, and simple breakfast items.
    We will provide food that you need for your meals each day but unfortunately we don't always have time to cook, so sometimes we ask that you prepare your own meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are many nice things to see and experience in the Annapolis Valley, a few different sites for example:
    - Cape Split hike
    - Blomidon provincial park & beach
    - many nice beaches in the area where you can see the red cliffs, rock formations and highest tides in the world :)
    - Grand Pre national park
    - town of Wolfville
    - many local wineries and micro-breweries, distilleries
    - other farms for fruit u-picks
    - many trails and hiking areas
    - Halls Harbour fishing village (where you can get the best lobster! ;))

    in Nova Scotia:
    - city of Halifax
    - Lunenburg fishing village (unesco site)
    - the atlantic coast, many beautiful white sand beaches, opportunities to surf
    - Kejimukujik provincial park for camping, hiking, canoeing
    - and much more! :)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kevin & Jennifer
October pumpkin harvest!
Naughty cows in the peach orchard
The coastline near our home at low tide

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)























Host ref number: 437794745877