Help us starting a self-sufficient life in the countryside, Abruzzo, Italy

  • Favourited 363 times
  • Last activity: 24 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Hello everyone!
    We are Claudio and Elisa, a 39-year-old couple with many dreams.
    Tired of the hectic routine of the modern society, in 2018 we quit our jobs, we bought an old camper (which still is our house) and we left our village looking for a different way of living, in harmony with Nature, animals and people, but first at all with ourselves.
    The experiences we lived, made growing in ourself the wish to have our own piece of land, where we can put into practice the principles of self-sufficiency as much as possible. It is a very ambitious project, which also includes the construction of a ecological house, using wood, straw and clay.
    A long journey brought us here, in our corner of paradise, in Abruzzo, in the center of Italy, near Vasto.
    The land, of almost 3 hectares, is surrounded by olive trees and has a beautiful view of the sea and the mountains.
    After 2 years as volunteers, now we are really happy to be hosts! We love the idea of ​​sharing our dreams with travelers from all around the world.
    The roads to follow our dreams is really long and every little help will help us to achieve it.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We spent the last few years studying and practicing the principles of permaculture, regenerative organic agriculture, biosinergic garden and bioconstuction.
    The volunteers can learn and share with us how to start a self-sufficiency project based on these principles.
    We will be really glad to share with you every our knowledge, as well as yours.
    We can make jams with the fruits of our land, homemade bread and pizzas, spirits, fresh pasta, soap and much more

  • Help


    The tasks here are really varied and it depends of the weather and the period you are going to come.
    In the garden there always is something to do: to seed, to plant, to weed, to collect, to transform,to add straw and compost, to collect bad insects, to spray natural teas, to water, ...
    But the help is not only in the garden: there also is to clean the forest, chop the wood, clean the bottom of the olives trees, clean the bricks, collect fruits to dry them or to do marmalade, go to the neighbours with the wheelbarrow to collect the poo of their goats, cut the grass, clean the fence from the brambles and lot more.

    We love to know other traditional meals, so we share with volunteers the tasks in the kitchen, as cooking and washing dishes.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We live in a camper, while volunteers stay in a caravan, that is old, but provided with electricity, heating and hot water.
    The toilet is an outside compost toilet and the shower is outdoors (among the olive trees) during the summer, while during the winter you can use the little shower inside the caravan.
    As we don't have any sewage system, we ask you to use only environmentally friendly detergents.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time you can enjoy the beautiful beaches near Vasto, which are 15 minutes away by car, or take wonderful walks on the Majella Mountain, just one hour away by car.
    The village of Monteodorisio is only 3 minutes walking where you can find bars, restaurants and supermarkets.
    We are looking for genuine people, who wants to share and looks to Nature as something wonderful to respect and protect.
    We mostly follow a vegetarian diet, but occasionally we also eat meat.
    We currently have only one cat, but in the future we would like to have goats and chickens.
    We don't have wi-fi

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets are welcome, but our cat Ninni is lovely with humans but not with other animals

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 765966451313

Feedback (14)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Help in an organic olive trees garden close to town in Liguria, Italy
Help teach Spanish / German or improve English to a child in Montichiari, on Lake Garda, in Italy