Help out at our place surrounded by Grampians National Park and learn to grow your own food in Cavendish, Australia




Favourited 171 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We spend a large part of each day outside playing and working (it's hard to tell which bit is the play and which bit is the work as it's all fun) surrounded by our magnificent garden and the forest. Our place is incredibly peaceful and we generally have a siesta after lunch. We would look after you as though you were our family. We could possibly take you rock climbing ( if you stay for longer than a week this is more likely to happen as it is weather dependent) Jon used to be a professional mountain climbing guide.
    We have both made documentaries about our experience in the wilderness and our sustainable/permaculture food ecosystem around the house; written for out door/adventure magazines and together we run a guiding business for unique adventures through untracked wilderness. To view the trailer of our latest doco on youtube you can google 'Suzy and the Simple Man'
    Workaway visitors need to be physically fit and not afraid to get their hands and clothes dirty in the garden and it would be great if you want to immerse yourselves in nature! Happy to cater from meat eaters to vegans. We are only hosting people traveling on a couple account, unless we are able to organise to have two single travellers to come here at the same time.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My husband and I both share a love of wilderness adventure. We run a Wilderness Adventure company and have many stories to tell about journeys we have made through untracked places in Australia and overseas. We live surrounded by the forest of the Grampians National park so there are many wonderful bush walks to do here with lots of Australian wildlife living just outside our house. Every day we go for an hour walk in the forest and most days we do some morning yoga practise.

  • Help


    We grow our own vegetables, fruit, chickens and fish, inspired by permaculture principles. We would like help with some simple eco building projects and general agricultural jobs mostly, like planting, weeding ,mowing ,feeding the chickens and some shared domestic duties such as cooking and dishes. We can work with you and help you to learn any skills to do with growing food if you don't already have those skills.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken


  • Accommodation


    Detached bungalow, clean and bright with gas heater. 36 foot ocean yacht with 4 berths.Shared bath room. The main living space is in a fire warmed log cabin.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Grampians National park is a national treasure of majestic sandstone mountains. Several small villages around the Grampians have lovely cafes and local art centres. The Brambruck Aboriginal Cultural Center is a great place to visit to get a sense of the indigenous history of the Grampians.
    We go to town ( Hamilton) once a week to do a food shop. In Hamilton there is a cinema and great second hand clothe shops with good quality clothing at very low prices.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day .

Sink in camp kitchen
Emus in the paddock
Accomodation in classic yacht
Solar shower area
Living/kitchen area
Off to harvest (or is that, 'to steal') some honey.
Music and food around the fire.
Fun, in a break from burning stick piles.
Camping bliss..
Also 2 minutes walk from the house. Rufus wallaby and baby.
Summer harvest.
Miranda, with our two little dog boys, relaxing at our waterhole.
Bungalow for you to sleep in.
View from the kitchen window.

Host ref number: 627484835819