Laid back lifestyle, helping with my offgrid land in a beautiful valley near Serra da Estrela, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 1369 times
  • Last activity: 26 Aug 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    Hello, Beautiful People!
    My name is Shine and I live in a beautiful valley in the Beira Baixa region, not far from the small town of Fundão, between Serra da Estrella and Gardunha mountains. I have a small slice of land where I need help with general development and maintenance, gardening and some building work.

    I ask for a minimum one month stay because it makes a big difference in energy flow.
    If you are available for a month, we can start with a week to see if it all works well. If you have just a couple of weeks, better choose another host to get the best out of your experience... Thank you. :)

    I would like to keep my land clean from as much pollution as I can.
    The water from the sink/shower is going back into the soil,
    so use here only biodegradable products that will not harm the garden/us,
    That includes: soap, toothpaste, shampoo etc.
    If you want to do laundry by hand, I have a bio-detergent you can use.
    Thank you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here you can enjoy a very quiet and laid-back lifestyle, typical in the Portuguese countryside.
    There are many hiking trails, river spots, and local markets in the area.

    If you enjoy being in nature and quiet life, then this is the perfect opportunity.

  • Help


    *Update August 2023*
    Very sunny and hot these days.
    Mostly help in the garden is needed. watering, weeding..
    Also, in general maintenance. mid-september starts a big wood project.

    Making new beds, planting, weeding, and irrigation.

    At the moment, final touches on existing structures. Mostly wood.

    General maintenance:
    Around the structures and garden.

    Eco Projects:
    Earthbag flood control.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    There are 2 cozy mobile homes for sleeping, Lupita and Louis.
    In the summertime, there are plenty of shaded spots for camping with a tent or hammock.

    About food - you take care of yourselves, hence the Max 3 work hours a day. There is a basically equipped kitchen at your service.

    If you arrive on Monday before 13:00, you will join me at the supermarket, so you can make your own shopping or/and join the collective shopping.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Serra de Estrella area is popular with tourists during summertime as well as in wintertime. Many opportunities for hiking, cycling, and swimming.
    Explore the highest mountain in Portugal (2000m) Serra da Estrella and the beautiful Gardunha Mountain.
    There is also the famous medieval village Monsanto and other traditional villages.
    Fundão is the cherry capital of Europe (!) and is also known for its very friendly locals.
    There is a bus and train station in Fundão with frequent connections from and to bigger cities and there is also a smaller train station (Fatela-Penamacor) 15min easy walk from the land.

    Arriving days are Mondays. I can pick you up from Fundao until 13:00 and from Fatela-Penamacor train station after 13:00.
    If you arrive after 13:00, you need to know that the closest supermarket to the land, is in Fundão, so plan to do your shopping there before arriving.
    I prefer if you try to arrive before sunset, thank you.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    The internet connection is very slow, but existing. :) All on cellular wifi.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 436152458635

Feedback (16)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (4.6)

House, farm sitting on my little farm in the Distrikt Portalegre, Alentejo, Portugal
Help with plants in the nursery and our house and plot with animals in the Algarve, Portugal