Help with gardening in our community homestead in Alberta, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 22 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are now closed for the 2020 season - it is getting too cold to host, fall is on its way here and winter around the corner. We are open to receive messages and chat - but will start looking for some nice folks to join us commencing May 2021 later on next year. Thank you for your interest.

    *** We are looking for a couple or friends or individual who doesn't mind to spend time alone to join us starting in May 2021 to end of August 2021, we are open for stays from 3 weeks minimum - and longer stays. Tasks include: Weeding, painting, building beds (hauling earth), cleaning brush, mulching with woodchips, and other tasks as they come up! Thanks for your interest! ***

    Greetings, we are a community homestead on the Canadian prairie. We are a couple in our thirties that have traveled the world and are down to earth. We live in a unique ecosystem where the prairies meet the boreal forest. So the land here is a mixture of farmland, pasture and forest. Wildlife lovers will love it here as there are moose, coyote, deer and even bear. Lots of migratory birds to be observed. We offer wildlife viewings in the local area. We came out here because we love nature. We speak English, Dutch (Flemish) and wee bit of French! We are good-natured, fun loving, creative folk! We love our alternative lifestyle, we enjoy being healthy and live a balanced life! We love creating alternative living spaces, yoga, meditation, dancing, having a fire after a day of hard work, etc.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn how work with the earth. Gardening, growing crops from seed. Observing nature and growing trees and vegetables. As well we have a great knowledge of traveling/camping in Western Canada and the Rocky Mountains (which we do often and throughout the summer). We can assist and guide you with any questions here. We also love doing yoga, alternative living situations (tiny home), cabins in the wild, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    We will need help from May to late August. We are open to individuals or couples to stay short or long term.
    In May, we will need help planting our garden. From preparation to seed planting. We grow as organically as possible and use natural growing techniques to have the most success out of our plantings. Besides the garden we have an active orchard and also grow fruit trees. We will need help to expand our orchard by weeding, adding mulch and watering. Other duties include digging and transplanting trees (small ones) and planting trees. Some tasks will be creating raised beds for garden plots and filling those raised beds with earth. Potting vegetables and trees. Other activities would be painting projects, general upkeep and organizing around the homestead. There is a large variety of jobs here to suit your interests as well!

    Most of this work is hands on work and some repetitive. The tasks will be staggered throughout the week. Pulling weeds is a daily task that is grounding and meditative. You can work away in your little section of trees or garden, getting your hands dirty and grounding with nature. The weather is typically quite hot and sunny, with some rainy spells here and there.

    Must be able to,
    Work alone
    Work on hands and knees
    Bending and crouching
    Some digging
    Minor Lifting
    Have fun!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our Workawayers will get their own accommodation in a large forty foot, two bedroom RV trailer. This is a nice option as you will have your own space and privacy! It is situated about 20 meters from our little house. Your accommodation is fully powered and has a kitchen, fridge, heat, shower, etc. We don't have a flush toilet here but you are welcome to use a compost toilet system or use the outhouse. There is a nice deck to relax on with a lovely view of the garden area. Our homestead is located far enough from towns and cities to see the milky way at night, yet close enough to not miss out on the comforts of the modern world!
    We will provide items to make breakfast like oatmeal and seeds and such, we will also provide lunches and wholesome dinners. We are plant-based, so we make delicious vegan meals everyday that will boost your energy and bring joy to the tastebuds. We love asian inspired meals, but we cook all kinds of meals and can keep your preferences in mind. In your own kitchen you can cook your own snacks or meals (including meat, eggs, dairy) if you please. With your own RV trailer, you can decide what time to start the day and eat in your own privacy. We are close by anytime, but we honour your personal time!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you love nature, working with your hands and being outside - this is the place for you! As well a place of relaxation and solitude. We are easy going and will ensure to listen to you and your desires. We are very knowledgeable of camping and traveling all over Western Canada - so we can help with advice on this! There is lots to explore in the area with wildlife, outdoor activities and a nice place to RELAX (as we have heard from many visitors). Great place to write a book, do yoga, stay in a remote cabin, go for walks, make art, learn all about gardening and planting trees, rewilding, ... etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 727642314885