General Farm and Animal help on a small hobby farm British Columbia, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 27 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/05/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I do not work outside the home but my husband does. We have three mini horses and two belgian drafts that we drive for pleasure and work. We have a greenhouse and gardens and live on 9 acres with two dogs. We live in a rural setting with crown land nearby.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the distant past I taught children about Equine husbandry, training and riding. Although I don't have riding horses any longer we drive our horse and ponies for work and pleasure. I have medicinal gardens and vegetable gardens that we harvest and eat, store and dehydrate. I have a leather shop where I create many leather products, from harness to belts, to knife sheaths.....

  • Help

    Help

    We live on a small hobby farm in the North Thompson region, BC. I grow medicinal herbs (all legal) have vegetable gardens, horses, dogs and a few chickens. We drive our horses and ponies and use the drafts to harrow the fields and for pleasure. I need help with the gardens weeding and harvesting and farm sitting if we go away as well as general farm maintenance and potential building projects. I have a leather shop I do alot of harness work and other leather projects. I am quite diligent in how my farm is run and animals are kept and handled. I prefer someone with horse experience, especially driving, but willing to work with someone who is interested. We do practice a high level of safety and horsemanship and there would be expectation to follow that practice. Would like someone who takes initiative and is honest and fair as I am. I enjoy intellectual, open minded people who are driven to take on tasks with vigor and passion.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Small guest cabin with heat and seasonal running hot and cold water small fridge and toaster oven. Out house. Breakfast and lunch up to you to prepare from your fridge but dinner in main house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We enjoy driving our horses and can always use an extra hand. There are lakes about half an hour away that we occasionally take the dogs for a swim. Our children are grown and I am home alone. I enjoy my alone time but would also enjoy the company of a person who is eager to learn about horses and gardening. I work hard but enjoy relaxing and sharing stories. My husband works, I am home. We eat as healthy as we can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    A fair exchange agreed upon by both parties-Not a working Farm, max 25 hours a week, 2 days off

Host ref number: 131818261864