Join a family and live close to Sagres, in the beautiful and warm Algarve, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 132 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 14 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there! I live close to Sagres, in the beautiful and warm Algarve. I am a musician and a single mother of a 3 year old girl. Our home lyes very quiet in the middle of nature, but the walk into the village is only a view minutes, and you'll find the best waves for surfing at the various and incredibly beautiful beaches on South-and Westcoast, only 5 km away.
    Since the help I require (to go play concerts) is in the nights, you would have your days free. To learn surfing, or do any of the endless outdoor possibilities around here, like stand-up-paddle, biking, kytesurfing, windsurfing, hiking, trekking, climbing, paragliding, horseriding etc.
    Since I'm a surfer myself, I'll be more than happy to go to the beach together and share the everyday life in the around here typical "hang loose 🤙" -way. If you love nature, warm weather, sports and the ocean, and you enjoy a healthy and alternative lifestyle, this place is perfect for you.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Babysitting and creative play

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Portuguese language
    English language
    Surfing
    SUP (I'm also a freelance SUP-Instructor)
    Kytesurfing
    Windsurfing
    Climbing
    Music (I can teach ukulele, guitar and singing)
    Permaculture

    The Algarve has a very multicultural vibe, there's people from all over the world living here, language mostly spoken is english, and we get a lot of tourism. My friends are as international as my band, you will get to meet people from many different country's and cultures. Myself, I'm swedish-suisse.

  • Help

    Help

    I need a woman to watch my girl when I have concerts with my band.
    This is usually 4 nights a week, mostly wednesday to saturday.
    (Occasionally also for an hour or 2 in the afternoon when I give private music-lessions / occasionally also a couple of hours in the late morning, when I have many concerts in a row, get home super late, and don't get enough sleep with kiddo getting up early. This is all very flexible though).
    My night working hours are always different, but usually I leave in the early evening. So you would be required to prepare and eat dinner with my girl, bring her to bed, and then stay with her (totally fine if you sleep as well) until I'm back, usually around 2 am, sometimes later.
    She is super sweet and easy going when awake, and then almost never wakes up once she's asleep.
    A very social and happy kid who gets along with all people, and is used to spending time with different nannys. Also, when our concerts are earlyer in the evening, the volunteers can come along with the baby, she loves dancing and beeing "on tour" with us. It would be really nice to get someone with at a bit experience in childcare, seeing it is a big responsibility to watch a kid (take it easy, my neighbour is a childdoctor and always reachable if there would be an emergency).
    Also you should like animals, I have 2 lovely dogs and 2 cats who would stay at home with you, and they would love to get fed.
    One important thing we've grown to learn thrue our previous experience with volunteers is, that the more longterm someone is available, the better for us. We really open our hearts to our volunteers, they become a part of our little family, and Nala as well as I grow super fond of them, so the many goodbyes are very sad for us. My wish would be around 2 months minimum, but if somebody would like to potentially spend a whole season that would be even better.

    Update during the Covid-19 crisis: my concerts are highly irregular at the moment and I don't know what the future holds. So for the time beeing, instead of babysitting so often, you will be required to also help out with the gardening in our beautiful permaculture vegetable garden. We have had a lot of time on our hand lately, so we have built up an organic farming project that can potentially completely feed us, and friends.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Sami: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The guesthouse for our volunteer is a handmade beautiful tiny wooden house.
    We have a compost toilet.
    The kitchen/living room we share is in a caravan. Hot inside shower.
    Got a playground, a big land (1 ha), a bycicle, you can use my car sometimes, or share rides with me, I have also some surfequipement and a sup to lend you.
    Sustainable living, own water and solarpower.

    Most of our veggies come from our own garden. The food I buy is mostly fresh from an organic farmer or the local market. I love cooking and do so mostly vegetarian or vegan. I will be happy to cook and share lunch and dinner, but the kitchen is always open and will be fully stocked with everything for you to have breakfast, snacks and meals whenever you want.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There's a busstation in the village (5 min walk), the frequent busses would take you to any town.

    You'll have 3 days off per week, which gives you a lot of time to go on short trips. Lisbon for example is only 3.5 hours away. There's lots of nice campsites along the coastline too.

    Because I work at nights, I enjoy quiet mornings and sleep-ins. I appreciate if you're not making a lot of noise around my sleeping-area in the mornings. You're welcome to take my car in this time of the day to go explore on your own.

    I am a happy, flexible and easy going person and would expect the same from my guests. I'm very social but also enjoy time to myself sometimes, my place has space enough to allow the both.

    If you're looking for alternative living in beautiful nature, and a better ecological footprint, you will find that here.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have unlimited g4 connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 396296982638