Enjoy island life in Gabriola, BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 84 times
  • Last activity: 09/01/2023

Availability

  2023 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Chrissy I am a single mother and I have two kids ages 11 and 14. I have a half acre property on Gabriola Island BC which is a beautiful place to live and visit that is culturally alive in all aspects of the arts.

    I am looking for someone to help out. So far I am finishing building a studio for the arts as I have in the past taught pottery and hope to do that again when the studio is finished. There is also landscaping, and stacking wood for the winter. We will do a variety of these projects day . The commitment is 25 hours a week. I need help with daily tasks as well such as dishes and cooking. If you don’t cook that is ok too but cleaning up after meals is expected.

    We live a 30 minute walking distance to the ferry and village.
    Gabriola Island is a short 30 minute ferry ride to downtown Nanaimo harbour, our largest city centre nearby.

    There is wildlife abounds on Gabriola ( lots of deer, wild turkeys and sea animals of course ) sure to please every animal lover and tree hugger.
    In the community it is easy to find recreation of all sorts on the cheap. People here are super friendly hippie sorts.

    We enjoy meeting people from all walks of life and would appreciate someone who can work well in a team environment as well as independently, strong; as yard work is very hard but satisfying work.

    So far I have had work away women come to stay from Germany, France, Mexico, Sweden, and California. I found everyone had something different to give our family.

    There is a coffee shop, and everything that one needs on the island. Restaurants, hardware store, gift shop, second hand stores.
    We have a local bus for getting around, but does not run often.

    I need someone who wants to be involved in the family life who likes children.
    Thank you for your interest. Happy Travels!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We stay busy but are simple people with simple ideologies.
    They can learn a bit of carpentry and how to live on a small island as it can be different than other places because of water conservancy and power outages that occur often. It has a small fridge in the room as well as television, fan, coffee maker. We will be attaching door knobs and putting trim on in the house and painting, doing some work in the garden, planting grass seed as well as pulling weeds and raking for landscaping purposes. It can be quite cold this time of year so warm clothing is good for outdoor work.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Having a good attitude and willingness to learn are great.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a extra bedroom with Attached en-suite, It has a small fridge in the room as well as television, fan, coffee maker. It is a bed and breakfast that is open currently… so if the room gets booked you may have to sleep on the couch.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Gabriola is really fantastic for nature lovers so spending time going for a nature walk and hanging out in our village area are popular things to do. We have nice coffee shops and people are very friendly here .

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 days a week

Host ref number: 428651694695

Photos

Feedback

Help with some DIY projects at our home in Sainte-Thérèse-de-la-Gatineau, Québec, Canada
Pet sitting in sunny Okanagan, British Columbia