Help in the garden in a small home in Moss Beach, California, USA

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Douglas and Frances have a small home by the ocean, with a private second apartment behind the garage. We need help getting our yard in shape. Moss Beach is a beautiful little town on California's Route One.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We enjoy getting to know others, where they are from, what their culture is like. Guests are invited to share their experiences in travel as well as stories from home. We will do the same.

    We live in one of the most beautiful places in the world. Our little house is half a block from the Pacific Ocean. Guests can hike down to the bluffs for the sunset or go to the Fitzgerald Marine Reserve (about three blocks away) and explore the tidal pools during low tide. There are lots of beautiful places to hike, both on the beach side or on the mountains that rise up on the east side of our community.

    Being in a somewhat rural area, it is helpful for guests to have their own transportation. For those who don’t, we have access to Uber or taxis and an hourly bus route to get to places with more of a population. We do have a few restaurants and a convenience grocery store within a few blocks though. For those who want to explore San Francisco, it will take about half an hour to drive or an hour or so by bus. For pharmacy, bank, or to see the town, Half Moon Bay is just six miles south of us.

  • Help

    Help

    We need help getting the yard under control. We have several features (a chicken coop and run, a vegetable garden, a few flowers and trees, a few rain gardens), but we want to define areas better and hardscape a lot of the yard with decomposed granite. We might have a light building project here or there, but nothing too sophisticated. We will provide all necessary tools and support to get jobs done. We will work five hours a day, but can be flexible as to whether they are morning or evening hours.

    Bring clothes that you can get dirty in. It’s not terribly hard work, but we will be working outside in the yard.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private one-bedroom apartment with a queen-sized bed, bathroom, kitchen, and living room with sofa and WiFi/Internet and TV. Very comfortable. We use it for personal guests and figured we would open it up to travelers.

    We don't have family meals, but we will provide you with food.

    You will have your own home essentially, and will be responsible for leaving it as you found it, including cleaning, washing linens, and re-making the bed.

    Optimal length of stay would be anywhere from 2 days to a couple weeks. Longer term can be discussed after we know each other a bit more.

    Non-smokers only, please.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    During time off, San Francisco is less than half an hour north of us. Half Moon Bay is a nice small town ten minutes south. Or hike around our neighborhood, it is about as beautiful as any place on earth.

    The SamTrans bus (Route 17) runs hourly for those who don't have their own car. You can also find Uber rides.

    Weather is usually 60F +/- 10 degrees. Summer tends to be foggy, winter tends to be rainy. Spring and fall are usually sunny and beautiful. Climate change has meant unusually sunny weather for us. Check weather online.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Front yard
Back yard
The chickens
Douglas & Frances


Host ref number: 746318869819