Come and help around the house and farm as well as with our horses in A. dos Cunhados, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favourited 510 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    05/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We breed horses and currently have over 25 which we rear as naturally as possible and prepare for their future. I also work full time in our Family produce business so we always have alot to do. Situated close to the Silvercoast beaches, this is a lovely area to explore.
    I have 4 dogs and 4 cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellers will learn how to interact with horses in a natural way and have an opportunity to explore Portugal with its beautiful scenery, coastline and historic centres. We also grow fresh produce for export as a business which is very interesting for travellers to hear about and see the farms.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Particularly looking for people to help with repair and maintenance projects and ability to work on their own initiative. I need help in the stables and on the land plus people who are prepared to hold the fort when I have to travel or we take horses to dressage shows etc. It is important that Workawayers are prepared to stay for a minimum period of one month. Mature workawayers are preferred. Helpers must make sure that their traveller insurance will cover them if they wish to ride horses.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Split level open plan annex/apartment with double plus single bed, kitchenette, lounge area and own bathroom with shower. Use of games room and swimming pool.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have horses for experienced riders and pool for swimming. We are close to surfing beaches and numerous golf courses, tennis and other sports facilities and gyms. 35 minutes from Lisbon and various popular tourist sites. Local town has buses and trains to many destinations. Local buses available in the local village a short work from my house. In our village, there is a animal shelter where they are always glad of help to walk dogs etc.

    Internet available in the apartment.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have excellent Internet connection.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any kind of pet that will not fight with my animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 HOURS PER WEEK

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 388873389635