Come and join permaculture projects in an off-grid project in Sabugal, Portugal

  • Portugal
  • Favourited 542 times
  • Last activity: 30/01/2023

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    About me:
    Hello! My name is Carlos, I'm 44 and I'm portuguese. I grew up in Montijo, I went to college in Lisbon to study computer sciences and I started to work as a programmer. 6 years later I started to feel meaningless and took a leave of absence. I did volunteer work in organic farms in Sweden and France and went to Thailand to teach English in a public school in a small village. I came back to give a second chance to my job but after 3 years I decided to quit for good. Already with some land in the countryside of Portugal I started a journey in Portugal for one year to know about eco-farming and permaculture. It was hard to settle down in my primitive place so I went back to Thailand to the same school wishing to help those children in their English and football skills. Four years ago I came to establish and develop my land. I planted some trees, made some vegetable patches, produced cider, wine, olive oil, jams, I dried figs, tomatos and apples, etc.. The next year I did it all better with the help of nice volunteers and two year ago everything was slower for obvious reasons. This year something changed: I started working remotly in programming again (I'm enjoying it so far) and the feeling of loneliness is something I can't ignore anymore. I'm living here for more than 4 years already, on my own. My family and friends are all in Lisbon region. The connections I made here are light and with volunteers are ephemeral. I might have reached the same conclusion as in Into the Wild: “Happiness [is] only real when shared.” So my plan for now is to spend more time near my hometown sharing agroforest and woodwork tasks with my brother and coming here for specific projects which I hope to keep sharing with volunteers or non volunteers. I'm a quiet person but I really enjoy to use my human qualities in a group.


    About the project:
    I bought this land in 2014 while I was still working in Lisbon. After a short attempt in 2016, I finally settled down in 2018. In 2019 a fire burnt half of the land and the house was safe by millimeters. I took it like I should continue this project but carefully.
    My idea is to become as much self-sufficient as possible while helping nature to thrive and to share a possible solution for the problems humanity will face in this planet. For me, permaculture is the best answer for a lot of the current problems. There's still a lot to improve. And it's a great learning to go through all the processes. Money here is definitely not the priority. Restoring diversity and keeping people happy are the most important things. I'm open for your ideas and creative skills. This is a great place to find peace and slow down.

    What was acoomplished already:
    - plumbing and woodworking skills
    - being independent about electricity, gas and water
    - having animals
    - dealing with our own s***
    - sharing happy moments with volunteers
    - knowing the best species for these conditions
    - feeling I'm not only good with computers :)

    What there's still hope to accomplish:
    - improve the water retention features
    - shade more the land with trees
    - more vegetables/fruit production
    - better living conditions: insulation, more room
    - protection from the increasingly hotter whether

    *I'm answering only to the people that takes time to read all the profile and shows interest in any of the available projects.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a remote region in Portugal. The food is more authentic than in the urban centers and people keep some traditions expressed in events and fairs. I also buy products to the locals that can still make a good fresh goat cheese or homemade wine. I can tell you about portuguese culture, my travels, permaculture and other philosofical ideas. I'm curious to know about yours too.

  • Help

    Help

    There will be six times in a year I hope to gather a great team to share anual tasks or improvements in the farm. The projects will be better prepared and the time of stay will be determined by the task itself.


    February (1-2 weeks): Wine bottling and trees prunning. At this time not only the olive trees require prunning. Water filter installation.

    May (2 weeks): Land cleaning (protection from fires), mulching all the trees (use of the cut grass), sheep shearing and corn sowing in the lowest part of the land that doesn't require watering.

    August (1 to 1/2 months): At this time the trees require watering but there will be enough time to make blackberries jam, dry figs and have some improvement project (Insulate the house).

    September (1 week): Grapes harvesting for wine, sweet wine and juice. There will also be time for some wood storage.

    October (1 week): This is one of my favorites. It's time to plant trees and sow acorns or chestnuts.

    December (3/12-18/12): Olives harvest for oil (our gold). Deodorant making. 2022: There will be a pond expansion and it will be necessary to plant/sow specific plants/trees to hold and cover the land after the work.


    I'll be updating here the specific dates closer to each month project. If you already have some experience in the projects you want to join, great, but what I only expect from a volunteer is interest in the tasks, willing to learn and being ok with the simple conditions. There's the chance of working alone but I'll try my best to always have a great team.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Portuguese: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Thai: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My small shed has two matressess in the mezzanine. I also have a tent outside where usually couples prefer to stay during the warm season.

    The electricity comes from solar panels (it might be limited in winter time) and the water from springs. We usually use wood for cooking but there's a gas backup. I have a compost toilet and a solar handmade heater. In the winter we heat the water with a wood stove. We prepare the meals together. It would also be nice if volunteers could bring more natural hygiene products since we don't have a normal sewage system.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The transports here are not good but I have a car. During the summer we go almost every day to some river beach or a beautiful lake in the afternoons where we swim or fish. Historical villlages with stone houses and organic markets are also places I would like to take you. There are plenty of hiking routes that I would like to share.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 543453243425

Feedback (8)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)











Looking for help around the farm in Central Portugal
Help us with our newborn twin daughters on our smallholding in Alentejo, Portugal