Come and experience life in the Byron Bay Hinterland.

Country

Australia

Favourited 124 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/07/2019

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My 11acre [4ha] property comprises of an extensive sub-tropical ornamental garden, large organic vegetable garden, fruit trees & rainforest with a permanent creek and swimming holes. There is abundant wildlife & great bird watching and a swimming pool in a beautiful sub-tropical garden setting.

    After 15 years of living in Tuscany I returned to Australia and settled in the Byron Shire in 2000.Now I am managing this property by myself and so could do with some occasional help.My sons now live in London.
    I have an extensive background in teaching organic vegetable/ornamental gardening and eco-gardening and have good knowledge of the local rainforest plants and wildlife that I am happy to share with helpers.My background is in teaching,garden design,environmental management in sub-tropical rainforests, sustainable food [local Farmers Markets].I also ran my own restaurant back in the early eighties.

    15 mins to the closest beaches, 12 kms from Mullumbimby, 15 kms from Brunswick Heads, 30 kms to Byron Bay & 2.5 kms to the local Main Arm general store.

    Five hours of work per day for five days is required. A 'couple' or two guys with their own car is preferred but not essential .

    Some main meals are shared in the main house otherwise ample food is provided for the volunteers to cook their own meals. Mainly vegetarian. No children. Initial stay 5 days, then negotiable.

    Wi-fi available in the studio.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    Work includes planting, weeding & maintenance of vegetable garden, orchard & ornamental gardens, property maintenance, some house chores, rainforest regeneration and landcare work.Home handyman skills would be much appreciated

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English,some French and Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation for two is provided in a separate, private, three room self -contained, ex-artist studio in a lovely garden setting adjacent to the main house .

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I have a great library including lots on local wildlife ,organic gardening/permaculture, local indigenous history for those inclined to reading and learning.There is a lovely swimming pool in a classic subtropical garden setting.You can also go down to the permanent creek and take a dip in the waterholes. It is a 15 minute walk up to the the charming local Main Arm General Store where you can hang out with the locals.Main Arm was one of the first alternative areas in Oz in the early seventies ,it predated Nimbin! You could join me on my trips to Mullum or Byron if you don't have a car.Otherwise you can try hitch hiking which is part of the culture up here.Bus services run from Mullumbimby.Plenty of great beaches close by.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 384625938237