Help open-minded globetrotting couple in the beautiful area of the Pyrénées-Oriëntales, France

Country

France

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello everyone!

    We are a Dutch (Simone 31y) /German (Salah 28y) couple (with Hank and Mina the cats) living in a valley at the beginning of the Pyrénées-Oriëntales outside a beautiful little village named Corsavy (350 inhabitants). We moved into a beautiful Mas (country house) with 3,5 hectares of land consisting out of a mountain hill, a river, and a big forest. If you search well enough in our jungle, you'll be able to find plenty of fruit trees, berry's, nut trees and, if the season is right, mushrooms. We have our own water source, which (when it runs > the wild pig's tend to mess up the water pipes, they love having mud baths) provides crystal clear mountain water. The Mas itself consists out of the main house, a separate room and the gite (which all need a little bit of TLC). And we must mention that we have a pool (only in summer) :)

    During the past 4 years we have been traveling over the globe with our main goal to experience different cultures/food and ways of living. Along the way, we became more and more convinced that we wanted to create a sustainable life for ourselves. When this opportunity arose, we decided to take it and to head into the wild french mountains.
    Here we are trying to transform this old Mas and land into something prosperous, so we can create a place where people can be at ease and enjoy the simple life. Come and help us fulfill our dreams :)

    We are looking forward to meeting you!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll be staying with a well-traveled couple in a remote beautiful spot in the Pyrenean mountains. Sharing stories, knowledge and fun times under the Catalonian sun.

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment we are really looking for somebody who could take care of our property while we are heading to our home country's. (November)

    The minimum stay would be 3 weeks but just send us a message with your plans/ideas, and we are sure to find a way :)


    Apart from that we have several projects running:

    - preparing ground for farming
    - gardening
    - creating/building a get-together place
    - general maintenance
    - help with household chores
    - making firewood
    - creative input

    We would love to have help from people who have experience with gardening and simple maintenance.
    We would mainly work outside so make sure to have a proper rain coat.
    But even if you don't have any experience in this field, there's so much else to do that we definitely can find something for you.

    We think that everyone works best according to their own schedule. We are asking for roughly 25 hours of work a week.
    Mostly we go with the flow of what feels best and with what the weather permits. Of course, you can spend and organize your free-days or free-time as you wish (there is soo much to explore here!).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have plenty of green space to put up your tent or to park your campervan (<6m). If you don't have your own tent, you'll get a shared room in the house with your own bathroom (hot shower). In winter you can stay with us in the house. We have a washing machine, so the laundry is easy done.

    We will eat and cook our vegetarian meals together. Breakfast you can have on your own or join with us.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The mas is situated in the mountains, which provides plenty of opportunities to roam around and discover the area. Corsavy is at hiking distance to the Canigou (2784m), 40km from the coast and very close to Spain.
    If you like the outdoors this is the place to be. You can go cycling ( we have 2 mountain bikes available) hiking, rafting, para-sailing, canoeing, and climbing. Everything is possible, even playing golf on the highest altitude of Europe, ''La Domaine de Falgos'' in the village of Saint-Laurant-de-Cerdans (1100m).There are plenty of old medieval towns around with old fortresses and monasteries. There are thermal (healing) baths in Amelie Les Bains (the closest bigger town) and every saturday there is a nice beautiful alternative market in Céret. Perpignan is reachable by bus for 1 € from Arle-sur-Tech.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There's enough space to park your van (only reachable for vans <6m)!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Kuba and Nathan being at their best 😅🤙
Our property from the top.
Salah and Hank the cat 🤙
Sometimes it even snows.
Part of our private river.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 626163257295