Share life in the Quimper region of Brittany, France

  • Favourited 29 times
  • Last activity: 16 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    Judy is an American living 10 km from the center of Quimper (and 9 km from the beach) in a housing development in a small town. She is retired but still active in Internet site management and the creation of costume jewelry (particularly chain mail). Until last June, she shared her life with Marcel, who died of complications of Alzheimers. We had wonderful experiences with Workawayers who participated in our life and who have remained friends, and Judy plans to continue cultural exchanges through the Workaway program. Life here is relatively écolo - compost, recycle, use solar hot water, try to eat with the seasons, try to eat locally. Judy does not espouse any particular food philosophy, apart from a pretty strict avoidance of food additives. Most meals are home-made; Judy doesn't drink a lot but is perfectly comfortable with people who like an apéritif or a glass of wine with a meal. The day generally begins with breakfast at 9.30 and bedtime is usually around 21.30.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Quimper is a lovely city, lots of old stones, corners to explore. It is known for its pottery, which has been made here for more than 300 years. The outdoor markets are gateways to all sorts of interesting local food experiences. Artists and craftspeople exhibit regularly in galleries and pop-up shops. The town of Plomelin has 40km of walking trails, many along the Odet River. Judy is happy to take Workawayers to whatever events and activities she is participating in, whether it is a museum opening or coffee in the local bar. Judy is considered a pretty good cook and would be delighted to share; she would also be happy to help a Workawayer with web projects, including building sites.

  • Help


    A lot of flexibility here, depending on the interests of the Workawayer. Our jungle garden is slowly being brought under control, and there is always maintenance to be done there. There is someone who cleans once a week - floors, some dusting, bathroom, kitchen - but some help with daily household tasks like ironing or dishes would be great, as well as spring cleaning type of activities (windows, kitchen cupboards, etc.). For someone who likes projects, the garage door needs to be painted, the garden sheds need varnishing, something always needs to be planted or transplanted. It has been possible to accommodate other interests that Workawayers would like to explore in addition to their stay here.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    The Workawayer will have the guest bedroom and bathroom with toilet - both are upstairs and can be reached without going through the house. (Part of the room is used for storage, which we seldom need to access. The bedroom space available is about 30m2.) There is a television and a desk in the room, as well as space for clothes, etc. Of course the Workawayer can use the washing machine and have space in the refrigerator. Workawayers are welcome to share all meals. Fiber optic Internet service is reliable most of the time, and our phone service includes international calling to just about everywhere.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our town is part of the larger Quimper community, which means we are on the bus routes. It is a 20-minute walk from the center of town, where there are bus routes to Quimper. No problem to pick someone up at the train station in Quimper! There is a lot of biking here, too, for Workawayers with bikes (and there is a bike here that Workawayers can use, too).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have a fiber optic Internet connection and Judy has an Airbox that could be used if needed.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3-4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 147651792767

Feedback (4)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)