Enjoy a slow and peaceful life on our little homestead in North Central Washington State, USA

Country

United States

Favourited 88 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    07/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    This is a homestead, on the side of a mountain, off grid and remote. We have power provided by a small solar system and a wind generator. There is hot and cold running water and a washing machine on site. There is also WiFi as power allows.

    Your stay here would require 4 hours of work daily Monday through Friday in exchange for lodging and three meals a day Monday through Friday.

    Duties vary but would consist of tasks necessary to keep up the gardens, tend goats and chickens, fencing projects, and building and maintenance of farm structures.

    The view here is amazing and the National Forest is within walking distance. I also provide transportation to and from many local camping sites to enjoy in your off time and can loan gear if needed.

    The farm is always a work in process as is life. It is located in North Central Washington State and the closest town of Tonasket is 27 miles away. I live in a small cabin. There are goats, chickens, dogs and cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I can share how I have developed towards being self sufficient living off grid for 11+ years. The challenges and triumphs. I am in no way a permaculture expert but have studied quite a bit about the practices. Perhaps you have taken a PDC and have need of a place to practice?

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    For the spring/summer 2021, I am continuing to build terraces up the hill which will involve a lot of raking, moving rocks and digging. Another project will be moving solar panels to the wind generator tower and digging a trench for the wiring. We are building a new and improved goat barn and posibly converting a van to a living space. There will always be a wide variety of daily activities caring for the animals and gardens, maintaining the dirt roads and working on and in the cabin. Mostly all the tasks will require the ability to lift heavy things, go up and down ladders and walk up and down uneven ground.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a small cabin with guest space in the loft, a travel trailer and plenty of tent space depending how you would wish to sleep. Power is from a simple solar system and wind generator and there is WiFi when power allows. We live very rural and some might say a bit on the primitive side. This is a homestead on the side of a mountain in the middle of nowhere. There are animals both domestic and wild.

    I can prepare a wide variety of meals depending on dietary needs. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner will be provided Monday thru Friday. I am negotiable on this and will happily make accommodations and amendments as needed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The surrounding area has a wide variety of activities, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, camping and just enjoying nature. There are many small lakes nearby and in the closest town of Tonasket there is a community center with a variety of events. I have camping equipment to loan and can provide transportation to and from the many campgrounds in the area for your off time excursions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    There is plenty of room for RVS but no hookups. We use composting toilets and reclaim graywater.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 20 hours a week however you would like to structure it.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)








Host ref number: 377948963314