Experience family life and culture in Ireland's oldest city Waterford

Country

Ireland

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    08/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    503

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Three lovely children (11, 10 and 3) and their busy parents are looking for a kind, caring, adaptable and organised woman to come and stay to help the family and experience life in Ireland. We live in a spacious and comfortable Victorian house in the heart of Waterford city, the historic Viking capital of Ireland. Waterford is a vibrant, fun and walkable town, nestled between the mountains and the sea on the South East coast of Ireland. With three great theatres, cinemas, shopping and sporting activities of every kind on our doorstep - from cycling the Greenway to hiking in the mountains, surfing at Tramore or sailing in our family's boat in Dunmore East - there is something here for every taste.

    We're looking for a kind, fun, flexible and efficient woman who loves children to come and live with us. You'll have your own room and shared bathroom with internet and access to a car (a full driving licence is important, please) and get the opportunity to live in a beautiful, spacious home less than 5 minutes' walk from Waterford city. In return, we're looking for someone to help with childcare in the afternoons after school, and occasional evenings. If it works out, we'd like you to stay for a minimum of 6 months.

    We're two busy working parents whose schedules can change, so the right person will need to be adaptable and capable of keeping busy on their own initiative. And of course you'll need to enjoy being around children and a bustling family! We are a family which has travelled extensively internationally, so we have plenty of experience integrating with other cultures, and we don't have a strong regional accent of any kind. We're also friends with other young families who have workawayers staying from time to time, so we'll be able to help introduce you to other people of similar experience and interests. This is our first experience with workaway, but we have always had home helps and nannies since our eldest daughter was a baby, and we would be happy to provide you with references.

    We have two kittens, so animal lovers would be very welcome!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You'll get the opportunity to improve your English, experience life in a small, friendly, historic and vibrant Irish city and live in a lovely, spacious home with a kind, friendly and well-travelled family. We speak English and French fluently, and have a little knowledge of Italian. We have a home in Italy which we visit occasionally and access to a holiday home in the West of Ireland.

  • Help

    Help

    Babysitting and childcare - We're looking for help with children in the afternoons - picking the children (a girl of 11, a boy of 10 and a girl of 3) up from school, preparing a snack, and supervising homework time, as well as playing with the little one, who loves arts and crafts. Some driving is required, so a driving licence is essential, and we'll provide you with access to a car.
    Housework - Some light housework, particularly cleaning up after the children and after family meals, would be expected.
    Cooking - preparation of snacks and some simple meals for the children.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a beautiful, six bedroom, fully modernised Victorian home with a lovely garden, several sitting rooms, an extensive library of books in English, and home gym equipment. We live just five minutes' walk from Waterford city centre. You'll have your own single bedroom, a bathroom shared with the children, and access to a car.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Waterford is a great base to explore Ireland - it's two hours to Dublin, two hours to Cork and 40 minutes to Kilkenny. But there's so much to do here, you might not want to leave, with the mountains on one side, the sea on the other, a historic city centre with great shopping, a nearby town park, and a 46km Greenway you can run, walk or cycle.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 361551347971