1 / 5

Experience rural family life in Kilkenny, South East Ireland

  • Favourited 834 times
  • Last activity: 18 Jun 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    Last minute position for two weeks. ( from 12th June )

    **Over 25 years preferable**

    **Please note I don't always get to answer promptly due to other reasons**

    Help in any area of below list would be good.

    1. General assistance within our house as my health doesn't allow me get all tasks completed.

    2. Gardening - Help in the Garden at this time would be good, our current project is to organise a little house vegetable garden, and to put boundary around it. Ideal for person who is familiar with gardening/vegetables etc. This job has just started, planting some hedges/ fruit bushes etc.

    3. Occasional house sitting

    4. Optional :Sewing machine skills, only required for repairs of small items of clothing.

    5. If knowledge on Digital Marketing/Social Media that would be of great help to me, as this is an area that I need to get better on and to get me familiar on how to use these platforms. Or good at taking photos.

    Not all above required at any one time. If interested in any one area of above, this would be a great assistance and allow me to get other tasks completed.,

    We are a busy family of four, my husband has a tillage farm, and this is eco- themed. We also have two holiday houses which are rented to tourists during the tourist season. Our local town of Kilkenny has a Castle and attracts lots of tourists and a good social town. We have two school attending boys, aged 15 & 17 years. Our first son is learning German and our second is learning French. Due to my health not being 100% at this time, some jobs can be a little challenging for me.I will show how this jobs can be completed, but I expect then you should be able to carry out the task easily after that, e.g Ironing, cleaning the dishwasher etc

    We are both involved in tourism at a local level and hold annually a Heritage Week event during the month of August - Irish Music and Dance.

    On days off, we provide bicycles to travel around the local area, lovely villages of Paulstown, Gowran and Goresbridge, which has the River Barrow, nice for walks/cycle or activities during summer on the river. We will drive you to bus ( Gowran or Paulstown) which has connections to Waterford and Dublin (frequently troughout the day).

    We offer own room, wifi in house, shared bathroom, meals, bicycle use and transport to local buses. We frequently travel too Kilkenny, so a lift will be available or other local towns. On days off and if staying in house, helping around meals time is expected.

    We aim to make your time with us as stress free and enjoy what Ireland has to offer, in return all we want is an extra pair of hands around the house/Garden. Please note it is the country side, so if any phobias/allergies to insects or pollens - be conscious of this.

    Only apply for position, if you feel you can adapt into our family life, be self motivated, engage in conversation, and enjoy our culture.

    After two weeks, if we all get on there is possibility to extend your stay.

    We are a busy family so it's important that you would be able to jump straight in and be self motivated and be enthusiastic, we will teach you some new skills in our area of work, but we would like you to have some skills also.

    We have 2 cats.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Experience of Irish family.
    Rural Ireland - nature at it's best.
    Local communities.
    Living/sharing with an Irish family
    We like to hear of other cultures life styles and to hear other peoples stories, as this makes for the exchange to be beneficial for us also.
    Bicycle available to use.
    River Barrow walks or water activities on River.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    1. Help in house - general

    2. General outdoor duties: gardening

    3. House sit on occassions

    Sewing or updating old furniture (upholstery ) skills. This is a hobby of mine and wouldn't mind meeting someone with similar interests.

    On days off, if staying around house for meals, help with meals times is expected, e.g. prepare table setting, wash up or clean out dishwasher. We feel this is a reasonable request.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Beginner
    French: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Own bedroom in our house. Shared bathroom. Towels can be supplied. Wifi available in house as we feel communicating verbally is part of getting to know the culture as well. All Meals included, but help with clean up etc is required. The main meals of the day - Breakfast, lunch & dinner.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Kilkenny is a beautiful town/city and has a castle.
    Centrally located for touring the South East of Ireland.
    Bus connection to Dublin, Kilkenny and Waterford from our local village (Gowran or Paulstown) which are 3 kms away, and we are happy to bring you to meet buses.
    Bicycle available for use and guidance for scenic routes available.
    Rivers walks in Goresbridge, Horse Sales in Goresbridge, and Horse Racing in Gowran, all 3 kms away. Also water activities on River Barrow, - Kayaking, canoeing etc.
    Shops and pubs/bars/cafe in villages of Gowran, Paulstown and Goresbridge

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We live on a farm, a motor home is possible to park,

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum 4/5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 856762513947

Feedback (46)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)

Gorgeous traditional Irish Cottage overlooking Lough Derg in Co Tipperary, Ireland
Join our family in Clonakilty, Co. Cork, Ireland