A home away from home - help with indoor and outdoor projects in Helsingborg, Sweden

Country

Sweden

Favourited 217 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/09/2021

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi!

    Our current wonderful WorkAwayer got offered a great job and is leaving us prematurely. We're therefore looking for somebody who can come from about June 8th until July 3rd.

    I'm a single mom to a great teenager. We live in a spacious house from the 1920's which needs more tender loving than I can give it right now. Our loving cats Trixie and Squid absolutely adore two legged creatures. We're an LGBTQIA+ friendly household.

    I'm on a permanent sick leave and am home most of the time but our house has two living rooms if you need privacy. Although life has thrown us some real tough challenges, we're joyous persons who love having guests. The kid loves to play piano, guitar, and ukulele. They're a devoted artist, and absolutely love drag queens.

    I'm high risk for COVID-19, so if you stay with us, you have to take that into consideration. If your goal is to meet a lot of people in our city, our place is right now not the right one for you. But if you're looking for a great place in a marvelous city by the ocean this might be it.

    Wishing you all the best on this path of yours.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We're a Swedish Canadian household and I'm fluent in French and Quebecois. We love having guests and see them as part of our family. I practice mindfulness and we have a lovely yoga room at your disposal. We love nature excursions and we live not far from the ocean. I master many cuisines, and am especially interested in lactose and gluten free delicacies. My kid's a great baker, artist, and musician. I also have a past in the film and media business, am well travelled, and over all a knowledgeable and enthusiastic person. I've been teaching anything from film, media, and VR to mindfulness and personal development.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    There's and endless amount of stuff I need help with. F ex - Turning a lawn into a vegetable garden. General gardening. Fixing a fence. Painting indoors and outdoors. Fixing stuff in general. Handyman work. Building a storage space. Cleaning. Cooking. Laundry. Depending on the season and your skills and interests, there's always stuff to do. :-)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    As our guest, you'd have the third floor to yourself. It consists of a bedroom with a Queen size bed and a mezzanine level with a small desk. We have two living rooms so you can always find privacy. And we have a fire place. Unfortunately our pool is being renovated but should be working for 2021. As for cooking, we can figure out what works best for all of us. For health reasons, my diet is mostly Paleo. We're an alcohol free household.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Helsingborg is a fantastic city. Everything is walking distance and nature is very close. The local bus stop is 2 min away. We're a 15 min walk from the train station and downtown, and a 5 min walk to a small but lovely nature reserve with great running trails and a fabulous outdoor gym. And if you love beaches, Helsingborg is definitely the city for you (compete with free WiFi in all public spaces. It's and open minded city and it's very easy to make new friends here. and depending on your interests, I'm happy to connect you with the right people.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    A smaller camper van would fit in our drive way.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have cats so cat-eating dogs are not a good idea. Other than that, we love animals!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 337337359143