Looking for an animal lover to help me with the house chores in my home and shelter in Palomino, La Guajira, Colombia

  • Colombia
  • Favourited 810 times
  • Last activity: 02/01/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    I own a dog and cat shelter ♥️🐶 I have been rescuing and rehabilitating homeless cats and dogs within Palomino, Colombia since 2013. I am also currently the only animal rescue and shelter to offer strays refuge within the region. We offer a unique one of a kind experience to connect with people that share our passion for animal rights and invite them to join in the work that I am doing for strays in our community and along the Palomino coast. Through our Doggy Picnic activities, and donations we keep the shelter running. 100% of all proceeds are used to support the shelter and it's mission to rescue and to rehabilitate homeless cats and dogs within the region.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My place is located in a cool little neighbourhood in Palomino. It's about an 8-10 minute walk to the beach. It's a really nice place to be able to get to meet locals and see what life is really like here. Enjoy the amazing nature, River, Beach and Mountain.

  • Help


    I need help in the shelter with daily chores like: brooming the leafes, cooking, cleaning ( toilets, kitchen and dishes ) taking garbage out of the house, watering the garden and potentially some builiding and maintenance. It can be really dusty in dry season and we have lots of mosquitos, be prepared to get your hands dirty and sweet a lot!!!
    With the doggys: feed, help me washing them when necessary, clean their plates, pick up poppys, take them out for walks, pet and love them as much as you can!!!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have a bed with a mosquito net and a ventilator in a shared room. You can use the fridge and kitchen to make and store your meals. There is a shower and toilet. We have wifi (which is a luxury in this side of the world!)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Palomino is all about Nature. Its located at the foothills of the Sierra Nevada, an amazing sacred mountain with its snowpeaks, where you can visit indiginuos towns and see their way of life. Beautiful beach 10 minute walk from the house and 2 incredible rivers that reach the ocean making a spectacular view of sweet and salt water. Go visit The National Park Tayrona, with its beautiful beaches located 45 minutes from here. Hike the mountain and back down the river with a floater, really fun! If your looking to connect with nature and relax in the sand, while taking care of our house and The Pack, we have a place for you =)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day 5 days a week

Host ref number: 335491462274

Feedback (8)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)

Help on our archeological finca in Cali, Colombia
Help with our permaculture farm in Fusagasuga, Colombia