Help with 'off-grid' home and non-profit projects in Ontario, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 405 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    27  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** Update (May 27, 2021) ***

    Hello there friends!

    If you happen to be in Canada and are looking to get away and into nature, we would love to chat about joining paths. We are looking for assistance over the Spring-Summer-Fall-Winter seasons, with preferance to longer stays. Individuals, couples or friends are all welcome. Thank you and looking forward to hearing from you!

    We are an Off-Grid tourism destination on a journey towards a self-sufficient Eco-Village. We operate year-round and focus on developing and integrating various sustainable practices, such as compost humanure, alternative building, operate with alternative power and growing organic food.

    At the present time, we are looking for some help around our home, assistance with our 3 children, gardening, yard work, firewood stacking and meal preparation (if you like to cook)! With kids being off-school for covid closures, helping with school work is a big help as well. Ella is 13, Maya is 11 and Ethan is 8 and they all love to meet and engage with our Workawayers. Sasha is our beautiful Siberain husky and she loves getting special attention too. We are seasoned travellers ourselves, which is how our business vision was inpsired to be!

    Our current objective is to try and free up our own time, as parents, so that we can focus on other development aspects of our business. The tasks will be geared towards household oriented items as outlined above and not to the business.

    We also offer workawayers some fun experiences too:

    • Infinite wilderness - 500 acres, with crown land surrounding
    • Extensive trail system - hiking, mountain biking, snowshoeing, back-country skiing, kicksledding
    • Water access - canoeing, kayaking, tubing, fishing, swimming
    • Sliding park - winter tubing and sliding
    • Incredible nights sky's as there is zero light pollution on the property

    We look forward to hearing from you!

    Jen & Tzach

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will get to be a part of our family and see what it's like to live off-the-grid in a more remote and rural setting. If English is not your first language, you will have an opportunity to interact and improve your English skills.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We will provide you with accommodation, food and free access to all facilities & activities. You will be living 'off the grid’; with beautiful, pristine forest surrounding you.

    You will be asked to:

    • love and embrace nature
    • Have interest in physical work
    • Be willing to be away from Internet for portions of the day
    • Be independent, efficient and trust-worthy
    • Be friendly and have good communication skills

    Help is needed in the following fields, depending on preference, skill, season, project at hand, etc.:

    • Household - child care, cooking and general assistance
    • Firewood - for indoor and outdoor fires
    • Gardening and yard work
    • Forestry - trail building and maintenance
    • General maintenance and household renovations
    • Event preparations to assist with Charity events

    Our help exchange arrangement:

    We are aware that you are looking for an experience and we will do our best to make your visit here as positive and memorable as possible. We are looking for an average of 5 hours per day; with two days off per week (may not be the weekends). We will make sure that you will receive your free time; even if there will not always be a clear structure.

    Looking forward to meeting you!

    Jen, Tzach and the family

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Travel trailer, as the home base. You can also stay in one of our vacant accommodations, or camp in a preferred location.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Your spirit is more important than your skills, though skills are most welcome.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We are situated on a 485 acre property with endless space!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)
























Host ref number: 329338191934