1 / 5

Live a local experience in the heart of Cappadocia, Turkey

  • Favourited 217 times
  • Last activity: 17 Jul 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    If you are between jobs, a freelancer, or simply travelling full time and have simple cleaning experience and especially can keep clean after yourself this would be a great fit for you!

    I have been living in Turkey for over 10 years, including Istanbul 6 years and Cappadocia 7 years. There are lots of local knowledge and communication gaps between Turkish people and foreigner. I am passionate in sharing my knowledge and reducing misunderstanding between cultures and present the true beautiful color of Turkey to the world!

    My Turkish husband and his family run a guest house in Goreme, you are welcome to contribute to the guest house with maintaining the common area cleaning (we have full time staff, but just need random help here and there).

    It is expected for you to help 5 hours a day and 5 days a week. In addition to a bed in a shared room, materials and kitchen for you to prepare meals for yourself, you will be gaining a great local experience with proper introduction from your host, me, who is fluent in both English and Turkish.

    Please keep in mind, do not forget to clean after yourself, either in the room, the kitchen or bathroom as these areas are shared with other guests as well. We have one full time and one part time staff doing these tasks, you will be helping maintaining it. Also note, Goreme, the heart of Cappadocia, is in deed a traditional village, the place you will be staying have the best of internet, water, electric, etc that we are able to get in the village, but still, please expect the water/internet/electric may be cut from time to time and that is totally out of our control. It is part of the local experience living in this village.

    My name is Nicole and I have been living in Turkey for over 10 years. Before that, I have lived in the U.S. for 11 years (San Francisco and New York), originally from the beautiful island of Taiwan.

    Currently I am a hot air balloon pilot, licensed tour guide, CELTA certified English teacher, advanced level horse rider, and have this passion of introducing Turkey to the world!


    Please feel free to ask me anything :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In exchange, I'd love to introduce you Cappadocia local living, in addition to all the tourist attractions: hot air balloon ride, hiking, horse riding, ATV, etc...lots of culture exposure in a deeper level.

    You will learn Turkish culture, make friends with the locals as well as with guests, do activities as the locals do (for example, having BBQ at one of the local's farm house or at the horse farm when the weather is suitable or having meals with me :)

    Please be in touch only if you are passionated in keeping a place sparking clean and enjoy interacting with guests.

  • Help

    Help

    If you are between jobs, a freelancer, or simply travelling full time,

    Thank you so much for reading our profile :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Turkish: Fluent
    Twi: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    I'd love to improve my Spanish, learn basic French, German, Russian. In exchange, I can teach you English or Mandarin Chinese or Turkish. I am a CELTA certificated English teacher.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A bed in a shared room, located in the center of Cappadocia, Turkey. You only need your suitcase as if you are checking in to a guest house. Please note, we may need you to change bed/room according to the need of our booking situation. The room is NOT private room, it will be shared room.

    Please note there are many dogs and cats living around the property so this is only suitable for the person who is good with cats and dogs.

    We have the best location, for balloon watching and hiking trails. In additoin, the bus stop is only 3 minutes away, or walk to town center is only 700 meter, around 7 to 10 minutes by walking.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are lots of trails to do hiking, this is free. Or other paid activities which I can help to arrange at cost price, such as horse riding, ATV ride, hot air balloon ride, Turkish bath, village cooking experience, etc...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Hi, we would be happy to host idigital nomads but please have the right expection about internet access. It may be cut or slow from time to time, although we have obtained the best there is available for this village.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Average 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 387835477396

Feedback (15)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.9)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)





















Come and join our friendly family of 6 living in the beautiful city of Antalya,Turkey
Help me learn English while sailıng on the blue waters of Turkiye.