Come and help around our home in Hasselt, Belgium

Country

Belgium

Favourited 130 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/08/2020

  • Badges

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are Gerben (54) and Ina (58) married, and about to return from Italy to Belgium. Gerben has worked as an Innovation Lead in Philips/Saeco in Italy and will start a new adventure in Philips Eindhoven. That means that we need help in our house in Zonhoven to make it home again after so many years living abroad.
    Our home is located in a quiet area, close to a nature reserve and to the university city of Hasselt. Ina is a writer and a writing coach, she has been awarded multiple times and has published over 10 titles, mostly coming- of-age novels. She wrote the script for the movie 'Little Black Spiders'.
    We are passionate about improving 'the world', more practical: to support young people in finding and realizing their ambitions. Motto: we make dreams come true.


    We have 4 kids, all living with their own family in Belgium and the Netherlands. Now we will need some help in maintaining our 6-bedroom house in Belgium and getting the garden in shape . In return Ina offers support in developing writing skills and materializing creative projects (for songs, novels, scripts, live stories, story telling) and Gerben coaches in personal development.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Help

    Help

    We have identified 3 projects we would like to do with help of volunteers (not all together of course):
    1. To fully re-do our front garden, making it low on maintenance and pleasant to be in
    2. To restore the woodwork and repaint the house
    3. To renovate the garden shed
    For these projects we would welcome individual 'work awayers' as well as couples or friends travelling together.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a 6 bedroom house in which you will be most welcome and have your own private room(s), some with sink. We will share the bathroom. We would enjoy cooking together (Ina is a great chef, how about you?Learn the success of Belgian fries!), and sharing our meals. At the same time you will have privacy and time to finish your own projects. We love music, so for musical guests we have a piano, one drums, three guitars and other instruments.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in an area with nature reserves offering many opportunities to go hiking or (mountain) biking. Hasselt is a young, vibrant city where you can follow courses, meet students and participate in all kinds of cultural life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4



Host ref number: 313254782229