Live in the countryside with a family near Bolsena Lake, central Italy



Favourited 63 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days


 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    We are Maia, Stella, Lorenzo: as a family we chose to move from Rome to the countryside around Viterbo to experiment a new way of living and working, in a more sustainable way, in harmony with the environment. Since the birth of our baby daughter, more than 3 years ago, we chose to quit our full time jobs and bring her up in an open environment, dedicating her the amount of time that would have been impossible otherwise. We have rented part of an old renovated house in a rural area between Marta and Tuscania, where we share the garden, orchard and other communal areas with the owners (a sweet family with three adolescents kids), a super quiet dog, cats and chickens. We have roughly 200 olive trees, a small orchard and a field with scented plants which we are now learning to cultivate and use (essential oil, herbal tea, food products...). The olive grove, orchard and garden are organic. We do not use any chemicals nor pesticides and are happy to know and experiment the use of natural remedies. Come and see yourselves: bees, butterflies, worms, spiders, birds and other creatures live happily on site! We try as much as possible to produce ourselves what we need (vegetables, bread, jam, pesto, pickles), and we try also to do recycling, reuse, ecological choises... Our day to day life begins early: we drive Maia to school and we spend the rest of the morning working in the countryside. At lunch we take a break and a rest, and then we continue working in and/or outside the house, depending on the weather and on the seasonal jobs. We are open minded, very courious and we love to know and learn from other people. We enjoy cooking and are looking forward to trying recipes from all over the world. We are regular smokers, but obviously smoke only outside. We speak Italian, English, French, a little bit of Spanish and German. Sometimes we go to Roma, so the workawayers will also have the opportunity to travel with us, if they like (usually day round trip).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are two passionate persons who care for the environment and work towards a more equal society to live in. People will profit from a stimulating environment and learn a lot about what needs to be done in the garden, to live in the italian countryside. They will also enjoy Italian cuisine, and learn how to produce, cook, and preserve food and scented plants. Volunteers could visit the beauties of this area, learn some Italian, knowing us and our friends...

  • Help


    We would like to host people who can help us mantain and develop the garden and the olive grove, who are keen on learning about scented and healing plants, how to cultivate them and how to use them. Some of the seasonal jobs we expect people to help us with are: pruning, sowing, transplanting, harvesting. People with previous working/voluntary experience in these fields would be ideal, but motivation and enthusiasm are key factors. We are looking even at someone who is willing to help with the household, some maintenance or improvement works around the house (for example we need to enlarge the chicken coop and to build a protective fence for a new space used as a vegetable garden... ). Depending on the level of experience, the length of stay, their preferences and the season: we will devise together with the volunteers the most suitable activities for them. We would prefer a couple or 2 friends, since we have a doublebed room, but we are happy to host even one person! We expect people to work 5 hours a day, on average, depending on the priorities.

  • Languages spoken

    Italian: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate
    German: Beginner
    Spanish: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    Volunteers will be assigned a private bedroom with a double bed and private bathroom. We ask people to clean the room and the bathroom themselves, and leave them clean at the end of their stay. They will share the kitchen and the living room (with a big hearth, a piano and a guitar) with us, as well as the communal areas outside the house. There is central heating and WIFI. We are omnivore, but do welcome people who live on other diets. We usually cook and eat together. We kindly ask volunteers to inform us of any allergies and food intolerances / needs (vegetarians, vegans, diabetics, gluten free...) beforehand.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the spare time people can profit from the big spaces around the house, keeping in mind they are in common with the rest of the family. Few kilometres away, on the edge of Bolsena Lake, lie Marta and Capodimonte. The lake is the biggest bathing, volcanic lake in Europe. 9 kilometres away there is Tuscania, with its numerous medioeval buildings; private and free open-air spas (= terme); Montefiascone; Viterbo... and other typical towns of the area (Tuscia is the name of the area). You can even go to the sea (more or less 1 hour).
    From where we are, volunteers can travel by bus (picking you up to the bus stop in the nearest villages Marta or Tuscania, depending on destination and timetable). They are obviously welcome to explore the area and spend some free time with us, if they like. We appreciate autonomy and personal independence too. We usually meet friends, go swimming to the lake or to the sea (during summer), or simply enjoy a drink at sunset or in front of the fireplace. We are also members of a local farmers’ community who run local markets, undertake local initiatives and throw some party! This network aims at supporting each other and helping the community thrive.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly acccept pets

    Can possibly acccept pets

    It depends on pet's attitude because we have a dog, several cats and some chickens. Animals sleep outside in the garden.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 925196519518