Help in our Hostel with a new organic, tropical gardening project in Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Favourited 444 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    5  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    24/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    2089

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am a Dutch woman (53) that has already lived 27 years in Costa Rica now. My business partner is Costarrican. I have 4 children. The oldest is studying art therapy in Holland now. I have a Master in teaching Spanish as a second language. I have built a nice business with (small) Spanish schools & Hostels in 2 places in Costa Rica and 2 in Panama. Right now I only teach Spanish online.

    We recently started a vegetable garden on our own property. This was something we always have wanted to do cause we like to eat and provide healthy food. On the other hand, it was the current situation that gave us more time and a certain kind of new need to be more independent economically and improve our immune systems, This made that we finally could make this dream happen!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By working with us you can learn about tropical agriculture as well as learning Spanish and local culture. We expect to attract local people that want to learn English so you can make friends and help them!

  • Help

    Help

    Volunteer tasks could consist of one of / or a combination of below activities:

    - help out with planting, weeding, harvesting in our new vegetable garden surrounding the hostel.
    - help find & document recipes to prepare with the food we grow.
    - help find ways to locally market the produce.
    - help take care of the dogs.
    - help maintain the hostel clean and organized.
    - reception desk (check in/out of few guests if any).
    - help teaching English to local people.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A private or shared room in the hostel (depending on availability) with max 3 persons per room.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our Hostel and Home (attached to the hostel) in Turrialba are located in lush green surroundings. There are lots of hiking options (to waterfalls and in private reservas). We also have our own horses which we use for hoseback riding trips. We expect other tours and activities to become available again as well; there is great whitewater rafting in the area and we have a River Camp next to the Pacuare river. You can experience the the real costarrican life for example at the weekly vegetable market.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    we have a quiet space with lots of spaces to be alone, we have free coffee and tea and of course; very good, reliable Wifi. I am teaching online myself so I make sure Wifi is always working; we rent out rooms by day, week or month for very reasonable prices or when you can do volunteer work, for free of course.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours per day or 24 hours per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.5)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 298345628721