1 / 5

Join our family of five in Ranfurly, Central Otago, New Zealand



 Min stay requested: No minimum



  • Description


    **No availability until January 2024**

    We're a family of 5 with 1,4 and 6 year olds. We're both teachers and love gardening and getting outside.

    This is our holiday house in Ranfurly so is better suited to short stays (4-10 days). Get in touch if you're interested in spending a few days with us. We could mostly use some help getting the garden under control and a bit of painting and we'd love you to explore a beautiful part of the country. If you were interested in doing some of the Otago Central Rail Trail, our place is in the middle so a few options there.

    Let us know what your plans are and we'll see if your timing works with when we plan to be there. We generally spend quite a bit of time in January and the school holidays between terms and otherwise just some weekends.

    The accommodation is a sleepout just outside the house. You'd use the family bathroom and toilet.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We want to get to know you. We can help you to see a beautiful part of the country and the kids love to meet new people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Mostly gardening (weeding and pruning) and a bit of painting. Potentially some childcare for the right person.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Sleepout with 2 single beds. You'd use the family bathroom and toilet. We're happy to provide meals.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ranfurly is small. You can walk everywhere. But to get there or to see more you'd be best to have a car. It is on the Rail Trail so you could travel by bike.

    Located 2 hours from Queenstown and Wanaka towards Dunedin. It's a beautiful part of the country, not as commonly explored. Search for Maniototo landscape!
    There's great mountain biking and walking in Naseby, 10 minutes away. Other small townships to explore are Waipiata, Patearoa, Omakau.

    If you're travelling from North, it's 45 minutes inland from Palmerston.

    Our family life is busy and revolves around the kids. We'd love you to embrace the chaos with us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    You could park in the driveway or if the van was too big it could park on the street

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pets would be fine. There is a low fence at the front that would contain a small dog and we would prefer they were trained to not go on furniture.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Around 4 hours a day, negotiable depending on length of stay

Host ref number: 356156671984

Feedback (1)



Looking for Workawayers to help on our family farm/ orchard in Tolaga Bay, New Zealand
Join our ecological building project and learn about permaculture and off grid living in Kerikeri, New Zealand