Come and experience a lifestyle flower farm in Marlborough, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 160 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I live on a lifestyle block which includes a block of 4000 peony plants. I share my house with two small dogs and a farm cat and on weekends my friend and his teenage son come down from their beef and sheep farm to stay. At times my cottage can be busy but at other times quiet and peaceful. Although rural I am only 20 minutes from town and do have neighbours as the area has smaller lifestyle blocks and many vineyards. I always have multiple projects on the go around the house, garden and farm.

    Most of the time I work on projects with helpers. However l will pick 25000 flowers in a six week period from mid October to the beginning of December and workawayers who are happy to help unsupervised during this time would be very welcome. During this time I ask workaway visitors to entertain my dogs and help out in the house particularly with meals and keep my vegetable garden going. Even at my busiest time I will have morning and afternoon tea and lunch with you at the house and share stories about the day and life in general.

    I work off farm in a city as a university lecturer for the first half of the year and really enjoy the completely different lifestyle and physical labour of my farm for the second half of the year.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I enjoy sharing my everyday kiwi lifestyle. For those who love to work on a project I always have some projects on the go in the house and on the farm and welcome input of ideas and labour. Travellers are welcome to spend time on their own pursuits but I also welcome them to take part in all the activities I do. I enjoy helping travellers plan their time in New Zealand and showing them something of the beauthiful area I live in. I am also happy to share my knowledge of flower growing and floriculture in New Zealand with travellers if they are interested.

  • Help

    Help

    From August to October and in December there is a range of farm jobs that helpers can learn about including fixing irrigation lines, putting up wind cloth, help with my conversion of an old garage into a workshop, setting up a pack house, tree trimming, firewood cutting, as well as gardening and helping with my ongoing renovation of my old cottage. My current project is to complete the last bits of my kitchen renovation but I would also like to make curtains and recover an armchair if anyone had those skills. I am also looking at ways of making my stock pasture better. In October and November travellers can help in the house with meal preparation, taking the dogs for walks and general housework.I have two cows on the property which will provide my meat and a large vegetable garden that always needs attention. I would like to rebuild my hen house and I have some trees that need to be trimmed if someone has skills in this area.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    My property is located 20 minutes from town surrounded by vineyards in a beautiful Marlborough valley. The old house is insulated and has a sunny veranda overlooking small creek in quiet peaceful surroundings.

    Work away travellers have a bedroom with a comfortable queen bed in the house. I have wireless internet in the house if you have a laptop or other mobile device or you are welcome to share my laptop if not.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    My small flower farm is situated within one of the main wine growing areas and is close to areas of natural beauty such as the Marlborough Sounds and Nelson Lakes. Having a car would be an advantage particularly if coming in the flower season when I am working long hours and so have less time to show people around but it is not essential. I do have a couple of bikes travellers can use.
    I also have a large number of books and jigsaws for those who just want a few days rest between travels.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours per week.






Host ref number: 296749844135