Stone house renovation and permaculture project in rural Limousin, France

  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 2 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    It’s lush green spring here and we need help with some smalish projects.
    Mostly gardening & moving stuff around, firewood, small diy. Everyone can find something fom him/her self to enjoy

    Edit- plans for 2024
    *We just had the bread house ruin fall down completly so we need to clear the tiles & stones and prepare it to be rebuilt as summer kitchen/green house/ pizza oven. Might be a fun project (mix of stone, glass, clay) but at the beginning it’s mostly moving the stones around.

    *We’re planning on expanding the garden &orchard so there’s always sth to do there as well.

    *also small thing inside the house like painting the windows etc.

    hi! after some years travelling & working seasonal jobs we settled down in France. Our house is an old stone building that requires a lot of love after being neglected for some years (served as a summer/holiday house). It is set in a tiny hamlet in the least populated region (Creuse) in the French countryside (Parque natural regional de Millevaches en Limousin). It is 25km from the Lac de Vassivière (which is one of the biggest artificial lakes in France). With the house came the land- we have around 1ha with a spring and a bit of forest.
    We want to create a homestead that will be as self-sufficient as possible. We have a source, we want to install solar panels and establish a permaculture garden. We are planning on doing most of renovation work by ourselves and we will try to use reclaimed and local materials.
    We have the house to update (no heating/no isolation etc.), small bread house to rebuild and big barn to fix. Also we're planning on starting permaculture garden asap. In longer run we would like to keep some animals (chicken, maybe goats), create natural swimming pond and some kind of food forest (or at least a nice orchard).
    Most of the time we just need some extra pair of hands to speed the processes up or someone tending to garden/cooking/cleaning while we're still in renovating process ourselves.
    Since we have spent all our savings on purchasing the estate, now we still leave for few months a year to work in different region, hence not full availability.
    It's just a beginning and we are still setting priorities so the help will be very diverse depending on what you want to do and what your skills are. We're workawayers ourselves and hoping to be good hosts, knowing the opposite perspective:)
    Few words about us: we're in our 30ties, both worked for corpos, quit in 2017, went for grape picking in France where we meet :) together we bought a van, travelled and worked seasonally in vineyards (to put money aside) and eventually decided to settle down in France. We got the house at the end of 2021.
    We consider ourselves open-minded and tolerant. Pragmatic and down-to-earth. We're vegetarians, dumpster divers, immigrants :)
    2022 edit:
    We adopted a belgian shepard dog, he is young & a bit crazy, full of energy and loves to play. He has some issues- not accepting all dogs, he especially doesn’t like small dogs (no idea why :/ ). He’ll probably be good with medium/big sized female dog.
    Also we have 4 cats. No problems with them :) just being cute and playfull and purring a lot.

    Internet- we only have limited access through our hotspots (moblie internet), no wifi available. Not fast enough for working online.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can teach you Polish or Romanian :) you can practice your French with us (not fluent yet) or English (much better here ;) We can share our countries culture, national cuisine (PIEROGI !!!) or some vegetarian/vegan recipes. We can show you around so you inhale some of French culture. We love vintage stuff and can take you tonbrocante/second hand shops. We still have a lot to explore in the area, so we can do it together.

  • Help

    Help

    If you have some experience that would be great, but if you have enthusiasm and learning fast that would do too. You just need to know at least basics since we don’t have time to supervise at all times.
    We’re flexible with the help & hours, all depending on the ongoing projects. We can just give you tasks and then it’s up to you when to fullfill it, we don’t work on schedule. You set your working time yourself.

    You need to be quite independent, we probably won’t be next to you at all times (if you’d requite help - you’ll get it, also instructions at the beggining).
    Best if with some practical sense and not affraid to use tools.

    We expect you to tidy/clean after yourself - after work with putting tools back, after cooking disches etc.

    We’d appreciate cooking / cleaning / gardenig also if you’re not into DIY projects, we just need to know in advance so we know what to expect.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Polish: Fluent
    Romanian: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have extra bedroom, with double bed, so can host couples. Kitchen, bathroom is shared. There's some space in the garden and we can provide tent/hammock if you prefer staying outdoors.

    NO TOILET INDOORS. There’s outdoors composting toilet, no flushing toilet inside the house.
    You need to be comfortable with peeing in the bush ;)
    The only bathroom (with shower) has a bit limited access since it’s only accessible by our bedroom (in practice it means no late night showers as we sleep)

    We are vegetarians and that's what we can provide when it comes to meals.
    We will probably have one or two meals together (lunch/dinner) during the day, with breakfast (and the other meal) you will help yourself (we'll provide all you need).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our hamlet is really small (only 8people living here) and it is in the middle of meadows/pastures & forest so you need to be comfortable with it (not much happening here…).
    In your time off you can visit Vassivière lake, go hiking in the Parque natural regional de Millevaches, visit local markets, see some small, charming villages around or visit Limoges.
    Not much of a public transportation around here but there’s a bus going places from Bourganeuf and we can give you a lift.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have some flat space in front of the house, the rest of the land is on a slope

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only friendly female dog (medium to big) since our dog is picky when it comes to his company.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 254465193724

Feedback (1)


Feedback



Looking for some help around our home and garden & Language exchange, Fourques sur garonne, France
Babysitting, DIY projects, birds/insectes houses making, gardening, music and knife-making in the countryside near Auch, France