Volunteer in this creative artistic environment in Hemnesberget, Norway

  • Norway
  • Favourited 651 times
  • Last activity: 24/01/2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We are located 200 meters from the bay and have beautiful sea view both inside and outside. We are located at Hemnesberget, which is a small village of about 1,500 people. We have local shops, 4 galleries, 2 cafes, 1 clothing store, thrift store, fitness center, chair manufacturer, the window manufacturer, boat dealers and gas station. If you like to sit and dangle your legs on the pier you just wander down a small hill. If you want to climbe mountains they are also within walking distance. It is also opportunities to hire a boat in the summer season. In the winter it is fantastic for skiing and Northern Light excursions. It is also possibilities to fish on the ice:)

    We have wonderful nature around us and I personally love all the different shifts in the weather. There are opportunities for bicycling, both on the road and in the mountain. Opportunities for walks in the mountains is everywhere. We have possibilities for swimming and fishing both in the fjord and in local lakes. So if you like to move in nature this is really a great place. In the winter the northern lights is dancing over our heads and it is a lot dark, also during tha day. In the summer it never gets dark, you can go walking in the Woods and only the temperature and the sounds in nature will tell you that it is night.

    We also have music festivals here on site, which is a goooood for all music lovers. We have an active jazz club here which hosts concerts once a month just down the street.

    In addition to the great scenery, with fjords and mountains, we have different studios in the house. Studio for painting and sculpture and at the moment we are making a studio for woodwork.

    The whole house is filled with art from top to bottom with the paintings and sculptures made by Yvonne and if you wnt you can paint with her in the weekends or evenings:).

    We are two people who runs this and ensures that the house is in constant motion and development. It is us, Magnar my man:) and me Yvonne:))

    Together we welcome you, make sure you eat well and that your stay here is as good as possible. Right now we are building in the house and this is what we mainly need help for right now. But your tasks can be walking the dogs, cleaning the house, helping out in every area we need it:)

    With us we have Milo staying with us. Milo is our cat. He is a friendly soul, cuddly and happily warms you, and sleep on your lap if you need company. He also keeps the mouse and bird populations in the area under control.

    We also have two dogs Hera, and Asissi, her doughter, both Welch Corgi Pembroke. They are friendly and playful souls. They can vary from a monster to a cuddely soft "teddybear". Depends if they are in a playful corner or in a calm one.

    Otherwise, it's not far to the city of Mo i Rana (30 min drive) or Mosjøen (1 hour drive) and Sandnessjøen (1,5 hours drive).
    It is also not far to the airport (45 min drive). Train station (15 min drive) if it is necessary to use.

    The motto of Yvonne "Be a deliberate creator of your own life instead of an unconscious victim of your own circumstances":)))
    We are all creating our own lives all the time, concioussly and unconciously.

    What do you want to create and be a part of in your life? Do you want to use a part of your life experiencing Norway and our family? Then you are probably welcome::::))))))))))))))

    We are talkative, sometimes loud, mostly happy and grateful. We like to recieve people who are openminded, responsable and selfgoing and able to think for them selves and are quick learners:))

    We also prefer non smokers and non vegetarians:))

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You can learn some Norwegian if you want.

    All our workawayers love our dogs because they love cuddeling and love everybody who comes for a visite, so you will never have a cold lap here, there will always be a dog on your lag warming you with love and affection.

    You can get to know us and a little about Norwegan culture.

    In the summer it Is daylight all night so that is probably also a nice experience for you.

    I looooooooooooooooooooooove Norway, every time of the year, in rain, in snow, in summertime, when its cold and warm. Soooo if you want to join us you are welcome, be prepared, the wether changes quickly her in this region, and that is what i love about it. If i wanted to live somewhere that is warm all the time, northern Norway is not where i would choose to live.

    Magnar is a good and patiente teacher in building projeckts, so you will learn a lot from him and get a good compaion to work with.

    Me, im more italianspirited i think, and have more temperament, say exactly what i mean, but want the best for you too. So dont be afraid, im not dangerous:)) I like that people are true, direct and concious and take responsability for themselves. I do not like exuses, blaming others.

    We are used to have people from all over the world so you will be fine:)) And we love to get to know you and what you have experienced and about your life and interests.

  • Help


    We also need someone who can take care of routine tasks like keeping the bathroms and the kitchens clean, cleaning the house, cooking, to do the garden, shuffling snow.... helping out with the daily life.

    In addition to this we are working with experience in building projeckts, who is structurized, good as a "handyman", quick learner and has experience in using tools, saws and other powertools. We are qurrently finishing of two bathrooms, changing a little leak in a wall, putting tiles on the wall in the bathroom, putting plaster on a wall etc but that does not take so much longer now. After that art projects will be started

    In addition to this i want to say something else here:

    Lately we have had someone here that did not "fit in" very well. So we prefere people who are safe in their own skin and who does not have any mental issues, a depression or is very homesick.

    It is also important for us that you are happy in your own company, and that you are able to coop with the fact that we do not always speak english when we have our family here on a visit. We will try to talk as mush english as possible but sometimes we forget so feel free to remind us if you feel left out.

    We are very happy if you arrive and just "clame your space" instead of feeling rejected, left out, thinking that your wellbeeing is only our responsability. This makes everything so much easier.

    We have also had people here that has told us that they know a lot about something and have a lot of skills, but when they arrive, it turns out that they dont. Please just tell us what you know, we dont expect you to be a genious who knows everything. I only ask that you dont promise something you can not keep. So because of people coming under false pretences, we always evaluate if this compaionship works or not. It has to be a win win situation for you and for us. If this works out you can stay for a month or longer when it suits us all:))

    Welcome to this house and to our family:))))

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Dutch: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    A room with double beds.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have wonderful nature around us and our house is located right by the bay.

    There are opportunities for bicycling, both on road and mountain. We have opportunities for walks in the mountains for days if you want.

    We have swimming and fishing possibilities both in the fjord and in local lakes. So if you like to move around in nature this is really a great place to be.

    You can learn to draw, learn something about acrylic paint in the evenings.
    You can go with me to work, mondays or thuesdays, where i teach drawing, painting or sculpture to my students.

    Hera and Asissi(The dogs) and me, also go for walks under the stars in the forest so it might also be a nice peaceful experience for you to come with us. It is really beautiful in the wintertime when the moon casts its light upon us and the stars are shining bright. We also get visits from Aurora borealis in the winter and that is a beautiful experience to:))

    A lot of the workawayers are thrilled about encountering Moose and other wildlife, especially now in the winter.
    In summer there are also 2 music festivals here in Hemnesberget.

    We have an active jazz club here which host concerts once a month just down the street. You can also eat in the local restaurant just down the road if you need to. .

    In the winter we have a local xmas market and i also bring all my students here one weekend every year. When they are here we make a lot of xmaspresents, cards, cookies etc... People who have attended this from workaway, have been very excited by this and has found a lot of joy joining us:))

    Soooooooooooooooooooooooo.....We have it all:))) .............In a small scale:)

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have good wifi connection

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Ok by us

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets


  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 294757576998

Feedback (10)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.8)

Communication: (5.0)

Help with some small repairs, painting and gardening near Oslo, Norway
Enjoy island life and help us with building, renovation, maintenance and gardening on Storholmen (Kvamsøy) Norway