Come and help our growing family with childcare in Hai Phong, Vietnam



Favourited 52 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Description


    We are a growing family in Hai Phong, Vietnam. I am Sơn, 26, and I live with my sister, Ngọc Anh, 20, her husband, Quyết, 26, and son, Đoang, 4 months. My mother comes over everyday for lunch and dinner, and my Aunt's family lives nearby. I am closely involved with an English Center, and am frequently busy. Quyet works at the port and is busy everyday. Ngoc Anh is going back to university soon, and will not have enough time to take care of Doang herself. We are looking for a native english speaker who can help us take care of Doang, and speak English with him.

    From Hai Phong, there are many places that you can go. Ha Noi is a 2 hour bus or train ride away. You can catch a bus to Ha Noi 200m from our home. Do Son Beach is 30 min from here, and Cat Ba Island and Ha Long Bay are also close by. Even Sa Pa can be reached, for a weekend trip. We can give you advice on places to visit, how to get there, and good food to eat. We also like to go on adventures and will invite you to join us for any trips we plan.

    We cook fresh food every day. If you are interested, we are willing to teach how to cook traditional Vietnamese meals.

    We are always eager to improve our own English as well, in both formal and informal settings, and will arrange a small class if you are willing. We all speak varying levels of English, some very good, and others almost nothing, so please be patient when speaking with us.

    We ask that all volunteers stay at least 1 month.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We want a volunteer to take care of, and speak English with Doang every day while Ngoc Anh is at school. Volunteers should be willing to stay at least 1 month.
    Most days this will only be 2-3 hours, though you can help more if you want to.

    If you want to learn to cook Vietnamese food, you can go shopping with us at the markets, and help cook meals.

  • Languages spoken

    Vietnamese: Fluent
    English: Intermediate

  • Accommodation


    We have two places to sleep available for guests. The room upstairs has air conditioning, and there is also a bed downstairs, with a fan.

    At least two meals, lunch and dinner, will be provided everyday, and are cooked at home and eaten as a family. Breakfast is small and more casual, and is usually bought outside. If you want a big breakfast, please be prepared to buy it yourself.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your free time, there are many places to explore in North Vietnam. If you like big cities, we are only a short drive away from the city centre and shopping centres, where there are many entertainment opportunities. If that is not enough the bus to Ha Noi, is only a 200m walk from our home. Ha Long Bay and Cat Ba Island offer beautiful beaches, scuba diving, rock climbing, deep water soloing, kayaking, boat tours, hiking, National Parks, home stays, and motorbike rentals. Hai Phong also has it's own beach, Do Son, for something a little closer. We also like to travel and have experience that we can share with you, to help you plan any trips.

    In addition, Hai Phong has an unlimited variety of delicious cuisine. We can recommend many new foods, drinks, snacks, and desserts for you to try. If you are feeling homesick, there are also many international restaurants for you to go to.

    Another option for your free time is teaching.
    Our first guest taught a class 3 days a week for us and some of our friends.
    In addition, she also taught English for a couple Vietnamese companies and a few private lessons.
    There are many opportunities to teach English classes at companies, English centers, schools, orphanages, and pagodas, both as charity and for money, if you are interested. Please let us know, and we can help you arrange this.

    Your free time has unlimited opportunities. We only ask that you prioritize taking care of Doang, and are aware of Ngoc Anh's schedule and the times she needs help. As this will change depending on her class schedule, please contact us about this.

    Again, please be patient with us, as not all of us speak English well. We welcome any opportunity to improve our English.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 289315577248