updated  

Gardening and relaxing in the countryside near Rome, Italy

  • Favourited 401 times
  • Last activity: 22 May 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Ciao Workawayers,

    My partner and I are living in a beautiful and sunny house in the country side near Rome in Italy.

    We have a land of 1 hectar which needs lots of work, definitely too much work for two people and that's why we need your help :)

    Workaway is also for us a great opportunity to host travelers from around the world, to share some good moments and discussions around dinner, activities and other exhanges.

    Laura is italian and I (Leo) am french. We have both lived abroad for many years (Canada, Australia, Malaysia, Liberia, South Sudan, Kenya, Ethiopia and Jordan) and we are now back in Europe, near our respective families :)

    At home you will hear french, italian and english so a great opportunity to practice new languages and also learn new cultures.

    We would love to share with you what we have learnt throughout the years but also learn from you! Learning through discussions and exchanges is something that we value a lot.

    Laura and I are both working so we would be quite busy during week days. So it is possible that we need some help not only with the garden but also with the cooking and cleaning part :)

    If you want to relax and disconnect, our home is the place, you will be surrounded by nature, with an incredible view of Nemi lake. There are many hikes near our home, either in the forest or around the lake. We are right next to the Via Francigena, I will let you look on Google to find out what it is, but it is basically the same as the Camino de Santiago but in Italy :) And you can of course also have a swim in the lake where there is a nice beach not too far from home!

    We have a few bikes which you can use to move around. We are only 1.2 KM away from Nemi town, one of the most beautiful town in Italy, and then from Nemi you have a bus which brings you to a train station which has trains to go to Rome (40 mins).

    Our plan is to also grow a garden with vegetables and to have lots of chickens to be able to collect eggs. With your help we could make it happen :)

    In our garden we have lots of olive and fruit trees so we may be interested to make some olive oil and maybe even some wines with our many wine trees! Again, lots of things we could go with your help!

    Oh and we have a beautiful ginger cat called Wadi! Feel free to check him out on Instagram: gramsofwadi

    We are looking for dynamic, energetic, motivated, open-minded and friendly workaways to help us with all of those nice projects :)

    Cheers

    Leo and Laura

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    By staying with us, the travellers will get the opportunity to develop their gardening and construction skills, interact with animals, exchange with international people with open mindset and learn more about new cultures, visit the surroundings using one of our bicycles or by taking bus/train to go to Rome, stay in a very comfortable and spacious house with a big garden and relax in a quiet place, enjoying the hamac with a nice view, chilling by the fireplace (soon to come) or outside by the swimming pool (soon to come), playing guitar, piano, reading books, watching movies or just rest in the nature, go hiking, etc.

  • Help

    Help

    Gardening : fruit trees and wineries, plant trees, watering plants, remove weeds, harvest, cut grass, trim trees, etc.
    Construction work: building outdoor stone walls, building outdoor bathroom, green house, swimming pool, etc.
    Fixing work: repairing broken bicycle, tools, painting old furniture, etc.
    Cooking: cooking (vegetarian) dinner, lunch, breakfast for everyone living in the house including the Workaways
    Cleaning: cleaning the house and the surroundings to keep it clean :)

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Italian: Fluent
    Spanish: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak french, italian and english at home!

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Three types of accommodation depending on available space and the number of workaways being hosted:
    - The travellers could sleep in comfortable tent in the garden.
    - The travellers could have their own private bedroom. We provide bed sheets and towels.
    - The travellers could sleep in the living room on the sofa.

    Common areas such as garden, terraces, bathrooms and kitchen are shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    So many things to visit in Italy and near Rome. Lots of hikings, sightseeings, seasides, medieval towns, etc. Lots of local restaurants or events to go to in order to learn more about the italian culture.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    Digital nomads are welcome!

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only cats, turtles, fishes, etc. but not dogs because we have a cat :)

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 285981318428

Feedback (12)



Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.9)















Help with our children and English (or Spanish/French) practice in the Veneto countryside, Italy
Help with outdoor, holistic projects and some pet-sitting near Pavia, Italy