Join us on our hobby farm near Vanderhoof, British Columbia, at the shore of Tachick Lake, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 69 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    11  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/09/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    60

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    80.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a hobby farm near Vanderhoof, British Columbia, at the shore of Tachick Lake.
    The property we live on is about 160 acres and gives our horses and lamas plenty of room. We also have three cats and two dogs that live in the house - no place to be for someone with allergies, sorry.

    Our house has two guest rooms and a guest bathroom we like to see occupied, in return we like to get some help with the daily chores around the place, from lawn mowing, maintenance work on outbuildings, to work and care for the horses, we always have something for anyone with some basic handy skills and motivation and common sense.

    We are both in our early fifties, have German background and work full time, well I (Frank) try to take time off in the summers, but it doesn't always work out that way.
    Our active life includes motorcycling, skiing, horseback riding and much more, we enjoy company and friends around us - but don't mind some quiet time as well.

    The lake provides plenty of opportunity for water sport, fishing etc.. We also volunteer in a water quality program with Environment Canada to collect data about the lake. This requires us to collect and process water samples every two weeks.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Some basics skills in animal care, horseback riding, running equipment such as chain saw, ATV and other machinery.

  • Help

    Help

    Basically everything from housekeeping to building and maintaining. Things like fence repair or cutting grass, basic gardening, taking care of horses and other animals. From painting outbuildings to smaller repairs on such.
    If someone equipped with the right skills, bigger projects are always around waiting to be tackled.
    Since we kind of see you as part of our household during your stay, we like you to also take on some of the chores that come with it. Like sweeping floors, vacuum cleaning, window cleaning and doing the dishes and such every now and then or even cook a meal every once in awhile.
    If we are working and you got the place to yourself, we expect you to treat it as such and take good care of it.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and German

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and bath on separate floor (walkout basement)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Vanderhoof is a small town of about 5000 people. It provides basic shopping opportunity and restaurants and pubs.
    It also has a hospital and health care clinic.
    The main industries in our area are forestry and agriculture industry.
    The next airport is 130 km away in Prince George and provides several flights a day to Vancouver and other centers.
    Vanderhoof has a Greyhound bus station as well

    The area has ample opportunity for outdoor activities such as hiking, boating,skiing and much more.
    Our property is about 25min out of town, but we always make trips to town.

    We try to get out as much as we can and don't mind showing our volunteers the area, or just provide tips of where to go.
    The local area has plenty of back country waiting to be explored.
    There are always plenty of people over for nice meals and wines or a rustic BBQ with some German beer.
    We truly enjoy meeting and having new people around us.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Maren, Frank & Ronja






Host ref number: 275234938652