L about sustainable farming, kiwi and austrian culture and join our family in Southland, NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/04/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    182

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey there, we are a young family who own a small dairy farm with 400 cows in Southland between Edendale and Gore. While we have a staff member to run the farm alongside us, there are always odd jobs we need a hand with to keep the place looking good.
    We take pride in farming sustainably, mostly grow our own food and take care of our land and animals as best we can. We are a multicultural family (kiwi/ austrian)who enjoy good food, travelling, being in nature, skiing, biking, jet boating and hunting in our time off. Come stay with us and be part of our life and enjoy a home away from home feel!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about sustainable farming, kiwi and austrian culture, sausage and cheese making and will be hanging out with two active young kids (7 and 5) amongst a lot of other things

  • Help

    Help

    We always have a variety of chores available on our beautiful dairy Farm. Child minding tidy up jobs, weed control, helping to care for the animals and you can try yourself at milking cows if you like.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    you will be staying in a warm and comfortable cottage, with a queen bed in your room. Kitchen and bathroom is shared with our employee, however all meals will be served in the main homestad with the family

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are just off SH1, so hitch hiking is no problem, however a car is beneficial to get the most out of enjoying the area!
    On your time off you can go fishing by the river at the bottom of our farm, explore the nearby parks or go for a drive through the catlins, explore Invercargill and Bluff. Gore has a great swimming pool and ice rink.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

late afternoon taking cows to shed for milking

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 271687371139