Join us on our rural organic homestead in Willits, Northern California, USA


United States


Favourited 615 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    96.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Super Host

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

  • Description


    Hello! We are a married couple in our 40's with a 9 year old son. We live in Mendocino county on land that has been in my family since 1970. We built a straw bale home 10 years ago and are working on creating a sustainable homestead. We are advocates for organic and natural living. We value living in nature and enjoying the beauty and gifts that provides. We love having fun and enjoying our time on this planet no matter what we’re doing! Being open hearted and playful is how we approach life whenever possible.
    We have been working towards creating a homestead that provides real food, fun, a peaceful and healing retreat, learning opportunities, as well as being a sanctuary for people during uncertain times.
    We keep dairy goats, chickens, dogs, cats and one free roaming pot belly pig. We have three large vegetable/herb gardens and some young fruit trees. There’s a pond which provides swimming and agricultural water throughout most of the year. Our homestead is in the mountains so there is still a sense of the rugged lifestyle and adventure that comes with living in a rural environment. We are 'off-grid' so we get our power mostly from solar and/or generator power. We still live a semi rustic lifestyle even though there’s a main house, and so we like to warn people that they should be comfortable with some elements of rugged living i.e. oil lamps/solar lamps, camping, dirt roads, outhouses, outdoor showers etc.
    We cut our own firewood, gather wild herbs and play in the forest as much as possible! We still maintain the 'back to the land' feel that brought our first family members here. Being still mostly in the beginning stages of developing much of our infrastructure, there is a lot to do to contribute to this awesome vision!
    I am a certified herbalist, Rebirthing therapist, nature lover, and passionate Mother. My husband is a carpenter, artist, entrepreneur, musician and wizard of all trades. Our Son is very open, engaging and social. It's important to us that those interested in staying here have a love and appreciation for children, and are comfortable relating and interacting with them.
    Our passions/talents range from organic/biodynamic gardening, permaculture, herbal medicine, spiritual exploration, music making, celebrating the seasons and cycles in nature, environmentalism, community building, art, dance, Waldorf education, carpentry, animal husbandry, nature all things farm life related! We appreciate humor, generosity, kindness and curiosity, and strive to foster those attributes throughout our daily lives!

    *This year we are looking for people who want to stay through an entire growing season or the majority of it. Meaning from Spring to Fall. Getting more of a homesteading rural living internship experience then shorter visits allow for. We have found over the years that on a varied homestead like ours everyone benefits and reaps more from longer stays. So we are looking for applicants who are interested in this kind of opportunity 🤎
    Also we would love a family with a child or children to join the crew this year, as having more kids around is awesome for our little guy!

    *We are always looking for help with building and house projects. Some of the things we'd like to get started are converting a small shed into a little sleeping space with loft. Finishing our outdoor kitchen. Lime plastering a bathroom and installing a tub/shower. Building an outdoor cob oven...or two. Please reach out if you have experience in those realms and want to have some fun! :)

    *Our outdoor kitchen recently underwent some upgrades and we dismantled parts of it to pour a concrete floor for the space. We have set up a cute camp style kitchen in the meantime. While not the awesome finished product yet, it is still very cute and functional!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can offer a learning experience in organic gardening, herbal medicine, carpentry, animal husbandry, living 'off grid' and following nature in everyday life.
    We offer the experience of living a rural life in the hills of northern ca, in a small artistic and historically rich community. We live in a town and community that has many farmers, artists, activists and old ranching families with deep roots and a love for this beautiful and unique area.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    We need help with the day to day farm/garden chores i.e. watering, weeding, feeding livestock, cleaning pens etc. Help with planting/harvesting, irrigation, housework, animal care, cutting firewood, building fences, new animal enclosures and small structures...and just about everything in between!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    We have a small single room geodesic dome structure with a full bed (this is currently undergoing repairs and not available) We have a gorgeous little gypsy wagon/tiny home with queen bed, skylight and partial kitchen. We also have many beautiful spots for camping, with tents available.
    There is food from the gardens and eggs from the chickens available. We provide staples for meal making, any extras or specialty items you must provide yourself, like coffee, desserts, snacks, treats etc.
    We appreciate family time and mellow mornings homeschooling our son, so most meals are “make your own” style in the outdoor kitchen, lunch is either communal at the main house or make your own, depending on the days flow.
    We do two community dinners a week...where we cook together, sometimes celebrate and play music/read poetry etc.! The other dinners during the week we have for family time and farm helpers cook communally or solo at the camp kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our town is a small vibrant bustling community with many fun options to explore during down time, like swimming in the river, hiking on a redwood trail, museum, great bookstore, art gallery, library, small theater, movie house, farmer's market, community documentary nights, farmers gatherings, fun local pub and cider house with great local musical talent and many other cool things to explore!
    We have been hosting volunteers for the past 5 plus years and have found it to be a fun and enriching experience for all. Many who have visited come to love the area and stay connected to our farm, and either extend their stay or come again.
    We strive to create a mellow fun environment for our family and for those visiting!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    This host has said they are willing to accept those travelling with a pet.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.7)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.7)

Host ref number: 157548332979