Give a hand around a small family farm in Katrineholm, Sweden

  • Favourited 17 times
  • Last activity: 28 May 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    We live on a small farm just outside Katrineholm. A smaller town 1 hour southwest of Stockholm. It's me Gunvor, my husband Anders and our big dog Bella. She is a Broholmer of almost 3 years. The farm consists of an old soldier's barracks built in the 18th century and our house, built around the turn of the century in 1900, a former day laborer's barracks where those who lived here had to pay the rent by working at Ericsberg Castle. We are very interested in the environment and try to live as ecologically as we can.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    With us you can follow the seasons and learn vegetable growing as a craft and in harmony with nature. You get to spend time with our large sociable dog who likes long walks in the forest. You get to join in and sow, plant potatoes or take care of the harvest and what the forest around us gives depending on the season, for example picking berries and mushrooms. We grow with cover crops and try to promote biological diversity and of course organically in order to be self-sufficient in fruit and vegetables. From what we grow, we usually cook vegetarian food but with a touch of fish. So Swedish home cooking, we look forward to offering you and tasting dishes from your culture.

  • Help


    We grow fruit and vegetables using cover crops and organic principles. Mostly for own use but also has a small sale of what is left over during the season. You won't be asked to help us with this. You are welcome to help us with the daily chores in our private garden and it can be a little different depending on the season. In the spring it is, for example, sowing, planting potatoes and tidying up the beds. Every year we have some new projects to develop the farm. This year it will be expanding the greenhouse and putting up a game fence. Last year, it was solar cells and irrigation using the sun that were big projects. As part of our ecological thinking, we use urine-separating toilets that can then be used as fertilizer in the flower farms.

    We now wish to accept volunteers for 2024, spring, summer and autumn. We are looking for help with walking the dog, cooking and gardening and simple carpentry/painting outdoors.

    For us, a volunteer is curious, and does not hesitate to ask if there are any ambiguities. Preferably someone who is used to dogs and gardening. But it is not a "must".

    Welcome to send a request and we prefer you to stay 2 weeks or longer. We look forward to reading your wishes and hopefully we will meet this year.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Swedish: Fluent
    English: Intermediate
    German: Beginner

    This host offers a language exchange
    Meeting people who speak other languages is always edifying. English is the language that I speak almost fluently but always good to practice more. I have only studied German for 3 years, so I can be seen as a beginner there.

  • Accommodation


    With us there are 2 different options for accommodation.
    1. There you live in an adjoining house on a sleeping loft with your own toilet, shower, washing machine and with access to a sauna and simple cooking (hob, air fryer, kettle, microwave). There is room for two people. We offer 3 meals a day. At dinner, we can discuss whether you want to eat together with us every day or some days. You can eat breakfast in the separate house or together with us.

    2. Or there is accommodation inside our house in a guest room with a bed and shared bathroom and kitchen.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is a beautiful nature to wander around. The Sörmlandsleden trail with over 1000km of hiking trails passes approx. 800m from the farm.

    3km from us is Jättorp. One of Sörmland's finest golf courses.

    One of Sweden's most beautiful baroque castles, Ericsberg, is just under 10 km away. There is a castle café open during the summer and a beautiful park to visit.

    We can lend you a bicycle so that it is easier to get around the surroundings. The nearest town is Katrineholm (7km). There is a railway that can take you to Stockholm in 1 hour or Gothenburg in 2.5 hours.

    In Katrineholm there are shops, a library, several restaurants, cafes and natural baths.
    At Stora Djulö, musical performances are often offered at the café. Stora Djulö is a manor located by Djulösjön south of Katrineholm. The current main building dates from the 1720s, but already in 1334 the farm is mentioned as Djula and belonged to Vårfruberga monastery near Strängnäs. During the 17th century the property was called Väster-Djula and after 1719 the day name was used.
    In Katrineholm there is also the canoe stadium, football arena and tennis court.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have Wi-Fi 100/100 by fiber cable

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a large lot and there is room to park on a flat surface even if it is not paved or asphalted.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 139566986155


Join us for gardening, creative DIY projects and cooking meals in beautiful Stjärnsund, Sweden
Help with DIY and gardening in Hova, Sweden