7 acres of land, on our way to self-sufficiency, Tasmania, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 10 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    20/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My husband, myself and our 10 year daughter plus our two miniature poodles live in this old farmhouse. We have lived in Tassie for just over a year now. We moved down from Sydney. My mum ( often called nanny) visits from Sydney as well. We operate a hostel and Air BNB on the next property. We have a 7 acre farm which we are trying to be as self sufficient as we can. We have lots of fruit trees to feed us and have started up a veggie garden. We agist sheep and calves as well as having our own chickens.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in a farm area in the North West of Tassie, close to the beach, but not too far from shops. We would love to help you learn about the Aussie/Tassie life, help you with your English, but generally welcome you into our family and our way of life. We would love to learn about your country and learn some of your language. This would be a great experience for our daughter, Wynnona!

  • Help

    Help

    We live on 7 acres and are looking for help in our garden- weeding, pruning,fruit picking, general maintenance work.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will have your own room in our house with your own TV/Netflix, shared bathroom and kitchen. There is an outside kitchen that you can use as well.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You will need a car to get around Tassie. Plenty if sights to be seen and lots of beaches to explore. My husband works most days long hours outside of our farm. I work 2 days a week outside the farm but also operate our business which is on the next property.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you are working from home, we have great wifi and plenty of spots you can set up in.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    there is plenty of room to park a campervan or car.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 10 to 15 hrs per week

Host ref number: 715315562858