Summer in Maine on a beautiful property, USA


United States

Favourited 117 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

  • Description


    We are so over the Moon to be able to welcome people from around the world to our new homestead! We are located in Unity, Maine, a place of beautiful farmland and woods near the ocean. We are a little family of 3. Our son, Cedar, is 4. We are looking for help with many things including gardening, organizing, building, electrical and plumbing, compost systems, Waldorf interaction with our child - read below! We can't wait to talk with you :)

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Animals - you could help with chickens and ducks. You can speak English with us! Learn about plants. Montana likes to play the guitar. Musicians are VERY welcome. It is gorgeous in the summer in Maine - tons of hiking, swimming, farming. It's cold and snowy in winter in Maine and music is a nice way to pass the time. Libraries in Maine are generally wonderful.

    Our town and area is AMAZING - there are so many inspired people doing amazing things - healers, farmers, artists...There is a world famous organic fair in our town every year. There is an Amish community here and they travel on the roads with horse and buggies. MOFGA (the Maine organic farmers and growers association) is here with lots of amazing classes. Belfast, such a cool little city is 25 minutes away. Rockland and Camden are about an hour away and we will go to Rockland once a week if you want to come. The ocean is 25 minutes away! There is hiking and tons of amazing events every night of the week.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help



    We are so over the Moon to be able to welcome people from around the world to our new homestead!

    We are a little family of 3. Cedar is 2 years old and is such a joy to be around - so funny and intelligent and quite a nature lover.

    What we are looking for...:)

    - Speak Spanish, Italian or French with Cedar (and us!)
    - Carpentry, plumbing, electrical
    - Green building skills
    - Garden and maybe help with chickens, goats
    - Knit for us!!! I want so many things knit, but don't have the time
    - Cooking and organizing, cleaning

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You would be in a cabin built by the Amish or our super cool vintage camper. It is insulated and at this point has two little bunk rooms and then a main living room. We are considering updates to it and maybe you could help with that. Meals can be had at our house a hundred feet away. Showers can be as well. You would use an outhouse or bucket toilet in the cabin (we do not have waste water disposal or toilets on the property.) Don't worry, it's not really weird - it's cool and sustainable!

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would ask for about 5 hours a day if you want to have 2 meals. Otherwise, we're flexible. Oh! We use mostly organic and local ingredients. Again, we love yummy food. We are eating mostly vegetarian these days.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans


  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets


  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    10 hours/week- no food, 25 hours/week- food

Host ref number: 261339846533