An exchange of cultures and help with some light tasks around the house in the San Francisco Bay Area, US

Country

United States

updated  

Favourited 982 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    15  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 18 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: 1 month or more

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi my name is Bruce.

    I already have a full-time caregiver and I am looking for companionship and very light help around the house, comparable to what any longer-term visitors might expect to do.

    I'M PLANNING FOR THE FUTURE. I CAN HOST VISITORS THROUGHOUT 2019-2020.

    PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTACT ME. Lucky me! Thank you workaway!
    I'm looking for someone who is energetic, intelligent in a wonderful town Walnut Creek, San Francisco Bay Area

    I'm wondering if you would be interested in helping someone like myself. By the previous sentence I mean someone who is charming, wonderful, engaging, intelligent and shy. I broke my neck when I was 18 years old and have been in a wheelchair ever since. After breaking my neck I went back to school and received a couple of degrees. I'm looking for someone who is energetic, intelligent and ready to take on a challenge. It's important to me that whomever I choose has good sense humor and can understand sarcasm. I'm also a liberal and I am concerned about politics along with many other things. If you'd like to know more about me and what assisting me entails I would be happy to provide you with that information :) by the way I live 28 miles East of San Francisco in a town called Walnut Creek. The San Francisco Bay Area is a wonderful place to live with a great diversity of people and ideas.
    I live in a small three bedroom house outside of San Francisco with Kim (my wife), Bennett (my service dog) Takoda (my retired service dog), and Teddy (the cat who thinks he's a dog a Havana Brown) and Scarlettt (some type of Siamese cat).

    I hope to hear from you.
    Bruce

    PS. I can only accommodate one person at a time because my house is small.
    PSS. Vegetarian and vegan friendly.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Charity work

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My desire is that we will both benefit and teach each other things that neither of us know. Sometimes the intangibles are quite valuable and I know that my experience has been everyone has something to teach and by observing we can all learn together.

  • Help

    Help

    I already have a full-time caregiver and I am looking for companionship and very light help around the house, comparable to what any longer-term visitors expect to do.

    Basic tasks you could help with:
    Keep hands clean because I have a lowered immune system.
    Vacuum the kitchen and living room every other day. I have 2 service dogs and 2 cats.
    Keep kitchen clean and help with laundry.
    Provide me with water and food :-)
    Drive me around to different places. We can explore together.
    Just be available to help me during the day.
    Some yard work but not much because we don’t water and live in a drought state.
    I’m very political so indulge me while I talk about politics.
    I will give you more details as we get to know each other.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    we live in a 3 bedroom house and you have your own bedroom and share a bathroom.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I live in the San Francisco Bay Area so the possibilities are limitless.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Takoda on the left, Bennett on the right. Takoda has been my service dog for the last 11 years. She turns 13 in October and bed at is my successor service dog. He just turned 2.
treasure Island
Santa Cruz. Little 2 hour ride from where I live.
Kim and Bruce
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)












Host ref number: 926511758964