Help needed on an organic farm near Barcelona, Spain

Country

Spain

updated  

Favourited 1015 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    45  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    75.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! 9 people living in the house right now! We look for volunteers very motivated for working only in the garden! We are looking either for a couple/ grupo or either people that would share the bedroom or not fear cold nights in a tent. We prefer people with a basic knowledge of Spanish or Catalan.

    PD (predata): for health issues we don't host volunteers that travel by plane and nor volunteers that want to stay less than 2 weeks (prefering long term volunteers;).

    Hello people!

    My name is Adria and I am working to make a difference in the local economy of my town, growing healthy and beautiful food to actually feed the community around me.

    I studied biology and always worried for wild ecosystems and biodiversity conservation, for few years I volunteered in many biological studies around the world, but then I realised that since Food Industry and Capitalism are the main cause of most of the really concerning enviromental problems the only battle was against them.

    So I did remember that my family had an old farm from the grandparents who nobody was using and I did study a master on organic farming. And some introductory course to permaculture too.

    Here I am now, in a big old house, 8 hectareas and the animals; the 4 cows, the 100 hens, the 2 dogs and 3 cats...

    And by the way with some friends we created an organization and started to prospect, interview old farmers and create a seed bank and traditional trees nursery. WE HAVE HUNDREDS OF SEEDS IN THE SEEDBANK OF THIS HOUSE!!!

    The projects in the farm are :
    - giving environmental education to schools
    - 0.8 ha veggies garden which take most of the work!
    - 100 young sweet fruit trees and grapes ( fig trees, peers...)
    - 20 almond trees
    - 27 small pistachio trees
    - 60 olive trees
    - cereal crops
    - feeding/taking care of cows and hens
    - creating a milking barn (this march)
    - preparing/cutting logs for the barn (now)
    - creating sterile cooking area for cheese and hen butchering

    Your hand work would be a meravelous help! I need some help to take time off work and good reasons to relax and have fun showing around this area to the travelers that wish to visit it.

    We are 9 people living now and usually in the house, 6 o 7 permantly. Some times in summer near 15 couse some can sleep in tents outside. Many of them don't work in the garden.

    There are 2 rooms for volunteers and if possible always at least 2 volunteers at the same time. At the moment in the house live permanently two boys.

    -------------
    Hola! Somos 8 en casa! Buscamos voluntarios muy motivados para trabajar solo en el huerto! Necesitamos 2o3 ayudantes! Parejas, amigos o gente a quien no le importe compartir una habitación!


    *AVISO PREVIO*: la esencia de este proyecto está en disfrutar la vida pero con suficiente consciencia como para no dañar a los demás. Por ese motivo en general NO ALOJAMOS A VISITANTES QUE ESTEN VIAJANDO EN AVIÓN. Además para cuidar nuestra salud mental, ya que pasan constantemente muchos voluntarios por esta casa, en general NO ALOJAMOS A VOLUNTARIOS QUE SE ESTEN MENOS DE DOS SEMANAS Y DAMOS PREFERENCIA A LOS QUE ESTEN INTERESADOS EN ESTANCIAS LARGAS.

    ---

    Me llamo Adrià y estoy trabajando duro por marcar una diferencia en la economia local de mi ciudad, cultivando comida saludable y colorida para alimentar a la comunidad que me rodea.

    Estudié biologia y siempre me preocupó la conservación de los ecosistemas y la biodiversidad, por algunos años hice voluntariados y prácticas en varios proyetos alrededor del mundo y entonce sme di cuenta que la industria agroalimentaria y el capitalismo eran la causa de la mayoria de los problemas ambientales más preocupantes, así que la única batalla es en contra de ellos ( "el cambio climático es solo un síntoma, la enfermedad es el capitalismo").

    Así que tomé consciencia de que mi familia tenia una granja semiabandonada y que nadie le estaba dando un buen uso, y por eso hice un máster en agricultura ecológica. Y algun curso introductorio en permacultura.

    Y aquí me encuentro, en una casa grande y vieja, 8 hectáreas y algunos animales... ( va variando pero lo más notorio son un par de burros).

    Y también cofundé una organización con la cual tenemos un banco de semillas que radica en una habitación ( y una nevera) de la casa: con cientos de semillas de variedades antiguas ( y otras menos antiguas...).

    Si intentas hecharme un cable seguramente me será de gran ayuda porqué es un trabajo pesado y cuesta hacer mover el engranaje para que sea verdaderamente sostenible.

    Hay 1 habitación para los nuevos voluntarios.

    En la casa viven 8 personas permanentemente.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am very talkative and love to explain or discuss everything related to my passions ( sustainable life, farming, nature, economy...).

    We can help in a language exchange. Have fun learning some sentences in any other language.

    I am very busy but every day we can share our meals together and I try to do some nice activities with the volunteers (there are usually also other volunteers/housemates to hang out with): going out to the town ( Igualada), going to the mountains, going to the beach, or doing anything else in my free day. And we like to share and invite to participate in those activities with the helpers!

  • Help

    Help

    Mainly farming/gardening help which means weeding, harvesting, seedling, planting, watering...

    Sometimes I also need help with some construction projects. If you have special skills in construction (laying tiles, construction laying concrete or creating garages) please mention this in your message.

    We expect from volunteers to help in the usual domestic tasks ( sharing the cooking, washing dishes or some other usual tasks)

    In summer we use to wake up really early to avoid the the hottest hours outside

  • Languages spoken

    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a bedroom for the volunteers and tents (and soon a tree house).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 60 km away from BCN, 5 km from Igualada

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    enough space!

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.9)































Host ref number: 256456241926