Come visit and help on the Sunshine Coast of BC, in an inspirational town surrounded by forests and beach and trails

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 129 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    68.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello! My name is Daniela., or Dani for short. i am 46 years old, Canadian, Italian and French. I grew up in Vancouver and have lived in Roberts Creek for almost 10 years now. I did a lot of travelling around BC previously for work and pleasure, lots of it being off road and finding the hidden gems in local places. I also rock climbed in Thailand, Mexico, Europe, and Peru, and spent every summer with grandparents in the French Alps near Switzerland.

    I have been on this property, for 2 years, and the projects have been slow and steady, but so rewarding as I learn with and from friends, and work awayers. I get to dream and create everyday.

    My long term plan for this property is to finish the Wellness cabin (almost there) with a sauna, exercise equipment, peaceful carpetted area for yoga, and upper sleeping and meditation and reading space, and a functional bathroom.
    The tiny home project is finished. The garden beds and greenhouses are up. We are still adding a few garden beds, and beginning to plant the seeds we have been growing.

    The thing I like most about travelling is learning and meeting the people (and of course the food, and usually the Sun!). I have found that doing workaway, is like travelling without leaving your home, cause I get to meet travelers from everywhere and share experiences and learn from each other. I have had such positive experiences with all my workaway guests, and I believe they have as well. It is easy in an a community like Roberts Creek, cause it has some of the most breathtaking scenery in BC, and a community of people that are so friendly and welcoming. The outdoor pursuits are numerous and music and art as well.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Roberts Creek is a small community, full of concious artists, musicians, organic farms, meditators, and the love of life and nature. there are many who live off the land, either gardening, farming, mushroom and forest plants picking. There is often community events available to learn about these things. There are many eco solutions popping up in this area. I personally, have overcome a difficult accident, which has led me to an ease of life, full of joy and gratitude, patience and joie de vivre, and the desire to live off of my land. I used to teach, and provide physiotherapy and acupuncture, and will soon again. I used to rock climb, and i know a lot about the great hikes, hot springs, areas to visit, and secluded camping spots in most of lower BC. I also am Italian and French in origin, and I have traveled in many areas of the world. I also play several instruments and sing, and I could share those skills.

    Roberts Creek is located on Squamish Nation Land, and there is opportunity to connect and learn about the native people to this area.

  • Help

    Help

    Ensuring the gardens are properly watered is part of the job we all do. We do have a watering system, but we sometimes need to adjust or add to the system.

    The wellness cabin in nearly complete. We are looking at setting up a rain water collection system for the garden, making a solar heater for the therapy pool.. The kitchen area is now functional, and the outdoor compost toilet and hot outdoor shower as well. There are small building projects, and DIY, and sometimes some painting or staining.

    The green house has been growing well over the winter with winter crops of kale and swiss chard. We are now setting up planting beds for squash, zuchini, and pumpkins. There is always some form of yard work to do, either trimming bushes or mowing the lawn or planting.

    Help around the house, and shopping, and rides to town are sometimes part of the tasks. A drivers liscense is an asset.

    I am pretty easy going and flexible most of the time. I do appreciate direct communication, so that everyone is on the same page. Please always ask if you have questions or concerns, and I will also do the same.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    Italian: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    The tiny home is where we usually house the workaway worker. It is a completley renovated trailer, with large thick insulated walls, a bedroom with double bed, dresser and small closet, as well as a kitchenette, shower, laundry, and toilet.

    In the summer, Workawayers usually stay in the microsuite of the wellness cabin, which has a functional kitchen, compost toilet and hot outdoor shower. workers are welcome to use the bathroom and shower in the main house. THe microsuite has a single bed on the main floor or there is a queen bed in the loft above.

    The Wellness cabin has an area with a sauna, gym, piano, and chillout couch and is full of skylights. when in the loft, you have a skylight above your head, and you are watching the stars as you go to sleep.

    I have created a warm cozy outdoor space this year so that we can visit with friends in the community, play music, play games while still social distancing outside. It is a covered deck by the main house, with 2 large comfortable couches and propane fire bowl.

    We also have a large firepit and a picnique table where we often share meals.

    I have several bikes that can be borrowed and used.

    There is also a hot tub for use.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Time off includes hiking or walking on the beach or in the forest, biking, swimming, kayaking or paddle boarding in the ocean, playing music, exploring the farmer markets, taking in live music and festivals, mushroom picking, fishing, bird watching.......

    I am an easy-going musician and health professional. Acquiring this property is a dream of mind, and sharing it with like-minded people, or being introduced to new ideas, is my goal. My future plans for the property, are to help ease lodging shortage on the Sunshine Coast, create healthy and sustainable living accommodations, create a healing space for my own livelyhood (to empower people to learn how to take care of their own bodies), to create a music space for music collaboration and experimentation, and in the future, to have space to allow foster kids from the city to experience and appreciate living near the land and water, in a loving community. I am hoping to allow the opportunity to explore and be inspired by nature and music, to experience good foundations that may help lead to a fulfilled life.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I have good fast wifi in all areas.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5hours/5 days per week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)










Host ref number: 669917163941