Help us with gardening projects and around the house in Saint Baldoph, France

  • France
  • Favourited 41 times
  • Last activity: 6 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: at least a week



  • Description


    We are a couple in our 50s. We have three grown children who often come home with their partner and child on weekends. We live in a house full of charm in a splendid location with a beautiful view of the mountains. We are surrounded by nature but only 15 minutes from the nearest city Chambéry by car (30 minutes from Grenoble). We love animals: 1 dog 2 horses 2 cats and 2 chickens. To accommodate all these little people, we have a large plot of 3.5ha which requires a lot of work. We would be happy to welcome people from time to time to help us with the house tasks, cooking, DIY, animal care and gardening. We have traveled a bit, speak English and Spanish and will be happy to share some moments with our workawayers for cultural exchanges. We also like our privacy which is why the accommodation provided includes a kitchenette. Workawayers will thus be able to take many meals independently, but we will also invite them to some common meals to discuss and get to know each other better.

    Nous sommes un couple d'un peu plus de 50ans. Nous avons trois grands enfants qui viennent souvent à la maison avec leur compagnon ou compagne et enfant le week-end.

    Nous vivons dans une maison pleine de charme dans un lieu splendide avec une très belle vue sur les montagnes. Nous sommes en pleine nature mais à seulement 15mn de la ville la plus proche Chambéry en voiture (30mn de Grenoble).
    Nous aimons les animaux : 1 chien 2 chevaux 2 chats et 2 poules. Pour accueillir tout ce petit monde, nous avons un grand terrain de 3.5ha qui nécessite beaucoup de travail.

    Nous serions heureux d'accueillir de temps en temps des personnes pour nous aider au ménage, cuisine, bricolage, soins aux animaux et jardinage. Nous avons un peu voyagé, parlons anglais et espagnol et serons heureux de partager quelques moments avec nos workawayers pour des échanges culturels.

    Nous aimons aussi notre intimité c'est pourquoi le logement fourni comprend un kitchenette. Les workawayers pourront ainsi prendre de nombreux repas de façon indépendante mais nous les inviterons aussi à quelques repas communs pour échanger et mieux se connaître.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers will discover life in the French Alps by being in the countryside but also close to cities for visits and meetings. They can go skiing in winter and hiking in summer. As we speak English and Spanish, we can help them in learning French.

    Les voyageurs découvriront la vie dans les Alpes françaises en étant à la campagne mais aussi proches des villes pour visites et rencontres. Il pourront aller pratiquer le ski en hiver et la randonnée l'été. Comme nous parlons anglais et espagnol, nous pouvons les aider dans l'apprentissage du français.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    Gardening: weeding, mowing, planting, pruning, working on the creation of a vegetable garden... House: cleaning about 3 hours a week and cooking once or twice a week. Do-it-yourself: repair, painting, construction of small projects.. Take care of the animals: feed all the animals (20 mins/day), clean the chicken coop (30 mins/week), pick up dung on the concrete slab in winter (10 mins/day) .

    Jardinage : désherber, tondre, planter, tailler, travailler à la création d'un potager ...
    Maison : ménage environ 3h/sem et cuisine une à deux fois par semaine.
    Bricolage : réparation, peinture, construction de petits projets..
    S'occuper des animaux : nourrir tous les animaux (20mn/jour), nettoyer le poulailler(30mn/semaine), ramasser crottin l'hiver sur dalle béton (10mn/jour).

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Intermediate
    Spanish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation


    Workawayers will have a studio with an independent entrance: a double bedroom (1.60m bed) private bathroom and kitchenette (hob, microwave and fridge). They will be able to be independent for part of the stay and come and share a few meals with us when we can. It is therefore necessary to plan a food budget (it is for this reason that we will ask for fewer hours of help).

    Les Workawayers disposeront d'un studio avec une entrée indépendante: une chambre double (lit 1.60m) salle d'eau privée et kitchenette (plaque de cuisson- micro-onde et frigo). Ils pourront ainsi être indépendants une partie du séjour et venir partager quelques repas avec nous quand nous le pourrons. Il faut donc prévoir un budget nourriture (c'est pour cette raison que nous demanderons moins d'heures de travail).

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    It is essential to have a car because we are isolated, the bus stop is far and the access by bike is very very difficult. We prefer to welcome couples because not being too available, we want our guests to be independent.
    It is essential to have a car because we are isolated, the bus stop is far and the access by bike is very very difficult. We prefer to welcome couples because not being too available, we want our guests to be independent.

    Il est indispensable de disposer d'une voiture car nous sommes isolés, l'arrêt de bus est loin et l'accès en vélo très très sportif.
    Nous préférons accueillir des couples car n'étant pas trop disponibles, nous souhaitons que nos invités soient indépendants.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Seulement des petits camping-car car l'accès est difficile (épingle à cheveux serrée) Small campervans only because the road access is difficult.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

Host ref number: 247134428238

Feedback (3)


These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)