Help with home chores and gardening and observe cheese making in Matt, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

updated  

Favourited 44 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a farming family, Franz (1986), Yvonne (1987) and our little daughter Ellin (2019). Our farm is located in a small village with 300 inhabitants on 850 metres above sealevel in the Swiss alps. We do have moderate tourism and the nature offers you a wide range of outdoor acivities nearby. When we do have some free time we like to spend it outdoor by mountain hike or visit other alps.
    Our animals spend the whole summer (June to the End of September) on our alp, which is about 20 Min. (by car, or about 1h 20' to walk) away from where we live. There we make some diary products. Since 2019 we live in our new renovated farmhouse. Around the house we still have a lots of things to do. As Franz spend the most of the summer with the work on the alp and with farming here in the village, we could need a hand for our garden project and other things in and around the house and farm. A few-days-stay on the alp is also possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very open minded couple and we would like to learn more about other cultures as much as we like to show others how we live. Workawayers can benefit from a nice place to stay, away from big cities. We also can show you how swiss chees is produced. In general you will have an impression how swiss farming in the mountais could look like. We are always open to improve our English or to teach some German.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We could need a helping hand for our household, gardening and garden project, babysitting, producing products for self-supply. In springtime we have a lot of chores on our fields (cleaning from avalanches, and fallen branches) and restart gardening, in summer farming does not get less but it is more concentrated on alp and household. In autumn it is time to conserve products for wintertime. Yvonne could need a babysitter, so she gets a few hours to produce products for the little farm shop we run since October 2020.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    From a previous exchange Yvonne speacks French fluent and learned English by travelling. Franz does understand English but like to emprove his speaking. He does not speak French.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have one guestroom and bathroom for our workawayer. We provide breakfast, lunch and dinner. We dont provide alcoholic drinks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Matt is located betweet mountains and offers you a wide rage of outdoor acivities, like hiking, climbing, biking....
    Also it is a stunning place for nature and wildlife lovers. We live between the UNESCO natural heritage site and Europes oldest wildlife reserve. The town is easily reached by bus.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    In every room we have network access. In case Worawayer would like to use it we ask them to bring their own equipment.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    on our farm there is enough space for any kind of campervans etc.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Host ref number: 221814723989