Come and help me around my house in the countryside of Polignano a Mare, Apulia- Italy

Country

Italy

Favourited 33 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi! I'm Vincenza and I live in the countryside of Polignano A Mare (Apulia) since last 7 years, with my lovely cats and chickens. At the present Darryl is living with us as helper/co-host.
    It's a very peaceful place for who loves nature and animals, respecting everything and everyone.
    My everyday goal is to live in harmony with nature and animals (humans included).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I'll be glad to spend time with you, teaching italian Language and culture , showing you a different lifestyle.
    If you'll stay long enough you can realize how is life in the countryside, trying to respect all kind of animals, vegetables, and trying where it is possible, to not waste earth resources.
    If you like I can teach you, doing it together, how to prepare something typical like "focaccia", "panzerotti", "pizza", "gnocchi di patate", "pomodori sott'olio". I can also teach you how to prepare bread, vegan cakes, seitan, jam from the fruit of the trees of the land, and also how to make soap with olive oil, toothpaste with clay. I can show you,as well, to recognize and cooking some edibles wild herbs. It all depends on what you are interested in.

  • Help

    Help

    I need different kind of help: cleaning inside and outside, painting walls and gates, general maintenance with eletricity and water (so eletrician and plumber are welcome), animals care, gardening, watering, cooking or help in cooking, preparing conserves, harvesting fruits (apricots, figues, malberry, grapes...based on the month) and olives (in November ).
    We aspected 4-5 hours of help (according to how much hard or light is the kind of work) for 5 days a week.
    If something is not clear about the assigned work, please ask.
    If you need help for doing the assigned work, please ask.
    Every day, after working, show what you did.
    Even if you have not previous experience about the assigned work, we expect you use a basic common sense working (and in the rest of the day, as well)
    If you finish the work please tell.
    If you need something or if you don't feel comfortable with something or someone (accomodation, food, animals, other helpers... ) please tell.
    Let me know in advance about your days off and your generic plans about you time off.
    I suggest to have a relative's or friend's telephone number for emergency.

    I strongly wish to spend good time all together!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Italian, English, Spanish, basic French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a double sofa bed for you, in the veranda for summer season or in the living room for the other seasons. There is one bathroom with shower and bidet, shared.
    Lunch is the main meal and usually we have lunch all together. For breakfast everyone can prepare by herself/himself (tea, coffee, fruits, jam, bread, biscuits...). Usually we have light dinner with the leftover, but if you are hungry you can cook something more.
    I'm vegan so I can offer you only vegan food.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In your time off, if you decide to stay at home, polite help would be appreciated.
    You can enjoy the quiet of the countryside on the amaca that is in the garden or you can spent time visiting the town of Polignano a Mare. There isn't public trasport for reaching the town but it's only 30-40 minute walking. For farther destination (Brindisi, Lecce, Bari) you can get the train.
    Sometimes we can go together to the beach or we can go to visit together the town of Polignano, Conversano, Alberobello, Monopoli.
    Of course I'll pick you up at the train station the day you arrive and I take you there when you leave.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 215492792571